Need help finding a ground - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 Old 08-16-2009, 07:02 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews
Need help finding a ground

I just wired up my flood light and am using the Daystar switches and panel. The switches are lighted with an indicator so I ran it's ground but so far all the grounds I find aren't right. The indicator on the switch is staying on regardless if the switch is in the off position. Obviously when I disconnect the ground the switch's indicator turns off.

Where's a ground I can tap into that only allows the indicator on the switch to turn on when the switch is in the on position?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!

Last edited by FUN LS1; 08-16-2009 at 07:06 PM.
FUN LS1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 08-16-2009, 08:13 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia Beach
Age: 42
Posts: 120
Feedback: 0 reviews

Sounds like it may be wired wrong. If the light is on then the circuit is completed. which means something is connected to ground. tell us how you wired up your switches and connections.
motors4fun is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 08-16-2009, 08:22 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by motors4fun View Post
Sounds like it may be wired wrong. If the light is on then the circuit is completed. which means something is connected to ground. tell us how you wired up your switches and connections.
I wired it EXACTLY like instructed. The Daystar switch has a power in and out and a ground for the light on the switch. Currently the ground is disconnected meaning the switch's light isn't active but the switch still operates the flood light.

http://www.visionxusa.com/Content/Do...terLEDBars.pdf
Attached Images
 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!
FUN LS1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 Old 08-16-2009, 08:47 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia Beach
Age: 42
Posts: 120
Feedback: 0 reviews

How do the swiches wire up? is there a 12volt+ constant and a ground along with a 12 volt in and out that go to the relay and battery?
motors4fun is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 08-16-2009, 08:49 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by motors4fun View Post
How do the swiches wire up? is there a 12volt+ constant and a ground along with a 12 volt in and out that go to the relay and battery?
There's a power in, power out, and power for ground. The power in I ran from the relay, the power out leads back to the battery, and the ground according to the Daystar box goes to a ground for the indicator on the switch.

I just don't get why the indicator never turns off if the switch is in the off position.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!
FUN LS1 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 08-17-2009, 10:58 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews

bump


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!
FUN LS1 is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 12:33 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews

Can't run the sPod, I have the Rock Hard roll cage.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!
FUN LS1 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 07:22 AM
Openly Hostile
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Age: 41
Posts: 6,984
Feedback: 4 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by FUN LS1 View Post
Can't run the sPod, I have the Rock Hard roll cage.

Yes you can. Curious why you think that?

Jason

Last edited by SDMF; 08-18-2009 at 07:37 AM.
SDMF is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 10:26 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDMF View Post
Yes you can. Curious why you think that?
I thought there wasn't room with the front bar right there by the windshield header.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!
FUN LS1 is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 10:27 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Chris Hansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 3,204
Feedback: 0 reviews

There's plenty of room. His fits just fine. Looks great, too.

Or....you could check with John, the sPOD guy (s/n sPODguy) and he can give you the specifics.

Dirty's Minions don't officially exist. They are a myth, a bedtime story, a whispered rumor. They are ghosts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Chris Hansen is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 10:30 AM
Openly Hostile
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Age: 41
Posts: 6,984
Feedback: 4 reviews


Jason
SDMF is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 10:38 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Dr.Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hesperia Ca
Posts: 8,653
Garage
Feedback: 21 reviews

i have the sPOd and getting the 12voltguy upper panel

I LIKE SWITCHES !!!!!!!!
Dr.Dirty is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 10:40 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews

Well for me the $20 daystar panel is fine. Any other thoughts on why the lights are staying on?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!
FUN LS1 is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 10:41 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Chris Hansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 3,204
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Dirty View Post
i have the sPOd and getting the 12voltguy upper panel

I LIKE SWITCHES !!!!!!!!
Dude...what the hell are you wiring up to all those things?

ejector seat
ooooga horn
oil slick
smoke screen
1967 bollinger

Dirty's Minions don't officially exist. They are a myth, a bedtime story, a whispered rumor. They are ghosts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Chris Hansen is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 10:51 AM
JKO Addict!
 
gold knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dawsonville, Ga
Age: 53
Posts: 11,065
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by FUN LS1 View Post
Well for me the $20 daystar panel is fine. Any other thoughts on why the lights are staying on?
Try switching the power in and power out. Power in should come from the battery. Power out should fire the relay. And that would explain power to the light in all conditions.

HTH
Larry

........My other hobbies include: Older cars and trucks; Spending money on unfinished projects, and continuing to not finish them...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExWrench View Post
For my money, the most notable part of this thread is all the fallout from bsack's fortune cookie factory explosion.
gold knight is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 11:00 AM
Openly Hostile
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Age: 41
Posts: 6,984
Feedback: 4 reviews

Those switches only have three poles right? Maybe you have them connected wrong on the switch. If you wired the relay like the diagram it should be correct. As for the ground, you can ground it anywhere to the body.

Jason
SDMF is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 11:16 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDMF View Post
Those switches only have three poles right? Maybe you have them connected wrong on the switch. If you wired the relay like the diagram it should be correct. As for the ground, you can ground it anywhere to the body.
That's what I'm thinking but the instructions are pretty basic. The only thing I can think of is checking my wiring on the switch. 3 poles - correct.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!
FUN LS1 is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 11:20 AM
JKO Addict!
 
gold knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dawsonville, Ga
Age: 53
Posts: 11,065
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews

see post 16 lol

........My other hobbies include: Older cars and trucks; Spending money on unfinished projects, and continuing to not finish them...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExWrench View Post
For my money, the most notable part of this thread is all the fallout from bsack's fortune cookie factory explosion.
gold knight is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 11:51 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by gold knight View Post
see post 16 lol
If that works I'll mail you a beer!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!
FUN LS1 is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 11:54 AM
JKO Addict!
 
gold knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dawsonville, Ga
Age: 53
Posts: 11,065
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by FUN LS1 View Post
If that works I'll mail you a beer!
You can just email it Let us know how it turns out.

........My other hobbies include: Older cars and trucks; Spending money on unfinished projects, and continuing to not finish them...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExWrench View Post
For my money, the most notable part of this thread is all the fallout from bsack's fortune cookie factory explosion.
gold knight is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 03:41 PM
Rock God
 
jkdrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 712
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by gold knight View Post
Try switching the power in and power out. Power in should come from the battery. Power out should fire the relay. And that would explain power to the light in all conditions.

HTH
Larry
With a 3-pole switch where the light only comes on when connected, that is the correct first place to look.

i.e., there are only two options!

Either you have power in/out switched, or you have shorted the power out to +12V somewhere.

... or maybe you have a switch that the light is always on? Have a multi-meter handy?

!c
jkdrone is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 08-18-2009, 05:18 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
FUN LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Mesa
Age: 36
Posts: 1,986
Feedback: 0 reviews

Well, after blowing a 20A fuse I rewired the switch and all is well


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Established April 1, 1983-
No dues, No rules, No President
ALL FUN!
FUN LS1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome