Focal/JL Audio install on 12 JK sahara - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 10-29-2013, 02:28 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
H.I.I.K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 564
Feedback: 0 reviews
Focal/JL Audio install on 12 JK sahara

Just some pictures of a simple install that we did on a JK last week. Thought you guys might be interested in seeing how it turned out.

The Jeep




Focal 165V15 (performance series) in factory locations




JL xd amplifiers in cargo tub


Custom Fiberglass box for 2 JL 10W3 subs








We installed the performance series 6.5" Coax speakers in the sound bar but boss man forgot to snag a pic of that.
We used Pac SNI 35 line out converters (LOC) to get signal from the factory mygig unit and factory infinity amplifier. They are all wire tied up under the driver dash.

Like I said just something I thought you guys would be interested in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nlgrav182 View Post
Maybe they just corrected your ridiculous mistake. Who the fuck orders chrome anything?

Last edited by H.I.I.K; 10-29-2013 at 02:32 PM.
H.I.I.K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 10-29-2013, 02:39 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
H.I.I.K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 564
Feedback: 0 reviews

Since I know someone is going to ask.

It is a 2012 sahara with
3.5" rugged ridge lift
bilstein shocks
fab fours full width front
fab fours rear with tire carrier
some kind of 20" xd wheels
35" Nitto trail grapplers
4 rugged ridge 2x2 pods in the front bumper
1 offbrand 50" led light bar (customer said it was around 800 bones)
dual steering stabilizer

Quote:
Originally Posted by nlgrav182 View Post
Maybe they just corrected your ridiculous mistake. Who the fuck orders chrome anything?
H.I.I.K is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 10-29-2013, 03:51 PM
Rock God
 
Treader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sulphur Springs, TX
Posts: 1,514
Feedback: 0 reviews

I like that sub box, pretty sweet. To bad I have a 2 door or I'd try and copy that box.

Nice clean install with the wires from and to the amps.

2010 2 door manual sport
Treader is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 10-29-2013, 06:07 PM
Rock God
 
JKashat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Bloomfield, MI
Age: 44
Posts: 991
Feedback: 0 reviews

Pics of PAC and wiring under drivers side of dash please.

2012 JKUR Bright White - Ordered 2-1-2012, Built 3-7-2012, Arrived 3-9-2012, Picked Up 3-10-12
JKashat is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 10-29-2013, 06:45 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
H.I.I.K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 564
Feedback: 0 reviews

I don't have any pics of the Pac SNI-35s used.

They are all wire tied to the metal brace in the top left corner under the driver driver dash.
Jeep was an automatic. This location does not work with a manuel since the clutch would get in the way.

the factory amp is locate under the driver dash. You simply cut the outputs from the factory amp.
Wire the SNI-35 to the wires coming out of the amp to gain signal output for your RCAs.
Extend the other end going to the speakers with either speaker wire or 9wire (basically just cleanly bundled speaker wire with a turn on lead) and run that to your aftermarket amplifier.

We used the cig lighter for the amp turn on lead.

Sorry I don't have more pics but I will try to help as much as I can.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nlgrav182 View Post
Maybe they just corrected your ridiculous mistake. Who the fuck orders chrome anything?
H.I.I.K is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 10-29-2013, 06:48 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
H.I.I.K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 564
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Treader View Post
I like that sub box, pretty sweet. To bad I have a 2 door or I'd try and copy that box.

Nice clean install with the wires from and to the amps.
Glad you like the box. Thank you for the kind words.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nlgrav182 View Post
Maybe they just corrected your ridiculous mistake. Who the fuck orders chrome anything?
H.I.I.K is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 10-30-2013, 04:17 PM
Granite Guru
 
roxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 269
Feedback: 0 reviews

did you have any noise issues useing the auxilary plug for the amp turn on? i tried to use it for the switched supply on my alpine pxe-h660 and had turn on/off thump issues that could not be resolved when using it.
roxj is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 10-30-2013, 10:37 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
H.I.I.K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 564
Feedback: 0 reviews

Nope no issues like that.
Usually if we have that problem we use a relay. So that the turn on lead triggers the relay to a constant.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nlgrav182 View Post
Maybe they just corrected your ridiculous mistake. Who the fuck orders chrome anything?
H.I.I.K is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 06:50 AM
Wheeler
 
JG1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 69
Feedback: 0 reviews

That install looks great! I just ordered a JL XD300/1 for my sub I will be putting in my 2013 jk 2 door. I planned on using the storage space for the amp like you guys did because it looks like a perfect fit. How did you mount your amps in there and did you use foam underneath? Did you do any drilling for the wires? It looks like you did to run the wires on the right side of the amps from the pics. Any advice you could give me before my install would be great! Thanks.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
JG1981 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 08:29 AM
Granite Guru
 
roxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 269
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by H.I.I.K View Post
Nope no issues like that.
Usually if we have that problem we use a relay. So that the turn on lead triggers the relay to a constant.
What size relay do you use? Or do you use something like the PAC tr4?
roxj is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 10:08 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
H.I.I.K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 564
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG1981 View Post
That install looks great! I just ordered a JL XD300/1 for my sub I will be putting in my 2013 jk 2 door. I planned on using the storage space for the amp like you guys did because it looks like a perfect fit. How did you mount your amps in there and did you use foam underneath? Did you do any drilling for the wires? It looks like you did to run the wires on the right side of the amps from the pics. Any advice you could give me before my install would be great! Thanks.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
We spaced the amps up with wire gromets so about .5" from the floor. In an effort to drill as few holes as possible we just mounted the amps into the removable factory plastic tub.
The wires are ran through the grab handels of the tub.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

Quote:
Originally Posted by nlgrav182 View Post
Maybe they just corrected your ridiculous mistake. Who the fuck orders chrome anything?
H.I.I.K is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 10-31-2013, 10:13 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
H.I.I.K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 564
Feedback: 0 reviews

The pac untis are really nice. We usually use the tr7 but Thats just because we always have them in stock. They just look better and dont ever seem to break as compared to a standard cube mech relay

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

Quote:
Originally Posted by nlgrav182 View Post
Maybe they just corrected your ridiculous mistake. Who the fuck orders chrome anything?
H.I.I.K is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 11-01-2013, 08:24 AM
Wheeler
 
WikedLizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 77418
Posts: 68
Feedback: 0 reviews

Very nice install.
WikedLizard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome