Windshield Lights - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 06:49 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Tank29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Center Of PA
Age: 44
Posts: 375
Feedback: 1 reviews
Windshield Lights

I am sure this has been beat to death already and I looked back through prior threads...I am looking to run a set of KC 130w Slimlines on my windshield...I already have 6 switches installed in my dash that are 16a 12v rocker SPST...How should I go about running the wiring from the lights to the switch?...Can I run a hot thru an in-line fuse to one side of the switch and then to the lights or do I need a relay too?...If someone has a diagram (even a rough one) that would be helpful...

I am thinking of getting a Blue Sea #5026 (12 Blade Fuse Block w/Cover) and mount it up under the dash somewhere...I plan on adding the following in the future and would like to do it right the first time...

Winch, front aux lights, rear aux lights, rock lights, and an air compressor (ARB's)...

Thanks in advance for the help!!!


2007 JK Unlimited "X"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TF 3" Kit w/4 Arm Flex Kit, TF HD F & R Adj. Track Bars, TF HD Steering Stabilizer, Yukon 5.13 gears, CenterForce II Clutch, Black Rock Soft 8's 16x8, Cooper Discoverer STT 315/75/16, RR XHD Front w/Stinger, SB XRC Rear w/Carrier, KC 130W Slim Lights w/Windshield Mounts, Xenon Flat Fenders, SB XRC8 Winch
Tank29 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 07:11 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to WTF_LOL

Do the right thing and get a relay. you can even get a relay box to have all the relays for all those items in one place. YOu can pick up one from the auto parts store for $10 or so.

HEre is how you wire the posts

WTF_LOL is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 07:27 AM
JKO Addict!
 
N2rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Age: 54
Posts: 3,887
Feedback: 0 reviews

definitely relay it. It's not hard to do, and will protect your rig from potentially hazardous situation.
N2rock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 08:21 AM
Rock God
 
Mikey's Rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 934
Feedback: 1 reviews

get an sPod and just hook up two wires.

Sent Via Zip Line Messenger
Mikey's Rubi is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 08:22 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Tank29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Center Of PA
Age: 44
Posts: 375
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by WTF_LOL View Post
Do the right thing and get a relay. you can even get a relay box to have all the relays for all those items in one place. YOu can pick up one from the auto parts store for $10 or so.

HEre is how you wire the posts

Cool...This will help out alot...Thank you!

Where can I get a 6 relay box at?...Also, what size relay would I need for the lights and a winch (future)?...


2007 JK Unlimited "X"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TF 3" Kit w/4 Arm Flex Kit, TF HD F & R Adj. Track Bars, TF HD Steering Stabilizer, Yukon 5.13 gears, CenterForce II Clutch, Black Rock Soft 8's 16x8, Cooper Discoverer STT 315/75/16, RR XHD Front w/Stinger, SB XRC Rear w/Carrier, KC 130W Slim Lights w/Windshield Mounts, Xenon Flat Fenders, SB XRC8 Winch
Tank29 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 08:30 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to WTF_LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tank29 View Post
Cool...This will help out alot...Thank you!

Where can I get a 6 relay box at?...Also, what size relay would I need for the lights and a winch (future)?...


What you will be looking at is the Amps. 20 amp should be plenty for any of those.


The winch? are you doing a in cab winch controller? If so, the winch already has relays. Otherwise it would be a pain running 4 gauge cable into the cabin
WTF_LOL is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 08:39 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Tank29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Center Of PA
Age: 44
Posts: 375
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by WTF_LOL View Post
What you will be looking at is the Amps. 20 amp should be plenty for any of those.
Cool...Any suggestion on where to get a box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by WTF_LOL View Post
The winch? are you doing a in cab winch controller? If so, the winch already has relays. Otherwise it would be a pain running 4 gauge cable into the cabin
Eventually I when I get the winch I will want in cab controls...

2007 JK Unlimited "X"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TF 3" Kit w/4 Arm Flex Kit, TF HD F & R Adj. Track Bars, TF HD Steering Stabilizer, Yukon 5.13 gears, CenterForce II Clutch, Black Rock Soft 8's 16x8, Cooper Discoverer STT 315/75/16, RR XHD Front w/Stinger, SB XRC Rear w/Carrier, KC 130W Slim Lights w/Windshield Mounts, Xenon Flat Fenders, SB XRC8 Winch
Tank29 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 08:53 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to WTF_LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tank29 View Post
Where can I get a 6 relay box at?...
I am just going to probably use a project box and make one.

Otherewise, PM Alec W. He has done a ton of research and found a really nice one from somewhere overseas. I think he has posted the link somewhere on here.
WTF_LOL is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 08:55 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to WTF_LOL
WTF_LOL is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 09:00 AM
Rock God
 
Mikey's Rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 934
Feedback: 1 reviews

That is basically an sPod. http://www.4x4s-pod.com/

I am not an electronics guru but this dude (John) really is. This takes about 30 minutes to install and fits perfectly.

Sent Via Zip Line Messenger
Mikey's Rubi is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 09:07 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Tank29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Center Of PA
Age: 44
Posts: 375
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by WTF_LOL View Post
I found it too...I will have to research it and see what all I will need...Prices seem pretty good...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey's Rubi View Post
That is basically an sPod. http://www.4x4s-pod.com/

I am not an electronics guru but this dude (John) really is. This takes about 30 minutes to install and fits perfectly.
Yeah that is a VERY NICE product but like I said before I already have 6 switches installed...Though it is very nice and seems like it would be very easy to install, I really can't swing the "better half" to let me blow $425+ for that set-up...I have her on board for $150-$200 max...

2007 JK Unlimited "X"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TF 3" Kit w/4 Arm Flex Kit, TF HD F & R Adj. Track Bars, TF HD Steering Stabilizer, Yukon 5.13 gears, CenterForce II Clutch, Black Rock Soft 8's 16x8, Cooper Discoverer STT 315/75/16, RR XHD Front w/Stinger, SB XRC Rear w/Carrier, KC 130W Slim Lights w/Windshield Mounts, Xenon Flat Fenders, SB XRC8 Winch
Tank29 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 09:21 AM
Rock God
 
Mikey's Rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 934
Feedback: 1 reviews

If you call John he may be able to do a better price, no guarantees. This may also spark him to be a sponsor over here, who knows.

Ok, so if you don't get it now, get it in the future. Take your 6 most complicated items and wire them right to your sPOD. use the existing 6 switches for your simple set ups.

Sent Via Zip Line Messenger
Mikey's Rubi is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 07-02-2009, 09:40 AM
Rock God
 
NxtGenCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orland Park, IL
Age: 33
Posts: 651
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to NxtGenCowboy

The sPOD is really a awesome device, I am hoping to get one soon.. The price is a bit steep but you get what you pay for!!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

The box said "Requires Windows 95, NT, or better", so I installed Linux
NxtGenCowboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome