Smittybilt winch:would this piss you off - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 Old 06-06-2012, 07:27 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

Smittybilt winch:would this piss you off

The free spool lever on my winch has been buggered on my winch since day one....stuck in freespool.

My vendor said they would replace it, then before I got the chance to swap it, they changed their policy to have the mfg deal with all warranty issues.

So I email smittybilt and they're sending me the parts to fix it myself.

I barely have the time to take the bumper and winch off, let alone disassemble the winch.

My mechanical skills flat out suck...I'm not a total moron, but I'm not a mechanic by any means. I'm somewhat concerned that if I fuck up my winch repair, I could end up stranded someday if the thing fails on me. I'm also concerned about future warranty issues if it's been worked on by me. I envision having to take the thing on and off a couple times...maybe not, who knows.

I don't have a garage, so I'll be doing this in the driveway and rebuilding the winch at my kitchen table.

I kinda thought they would replace the winch...maybe not the controls or the rope..but the main winch part.

To be honest, I probably won't even fix it...it still works, I just can't free spool, which is a huge pain in the arse.

Would you be pissed or am I over reacting.

I was under the impression that warranty meant they would fix it...not give me parts to fix it myself.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 06-06-2012, 07:39 AM
Gunnery Sergeant USMC (ret)

Don't get your panties in a wad. Just take the end cover off, if you have some allen keys. Metric I think. I just took my end cover off this weekend. Remove the lever and replace it.

Does the warranty say that they will fix it? Or just replace parts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lohchief View Post
If people don't take a stand now,you'll be bitches under their thumbs tomorrow.
Quote: