JKOwners Forum banner

Am I missing out?

5K views 29 replies 23 participants last post by  usmcdoc14 
#1 ·
I have been driving my 07 4 door for around 4 years now and I'm getting the itch for a new jeep. I was wondering if owners who've had both a four door and a two door or upgraded from a two door to a four door could provide me with some insight.
Is one or the other more fun in the rocks?
Is one better to drive everyday to work?
Did the two door become 10x more squirrelly with 37" tires?
Which would you choose if you could only have one?

Thank you for any and all responses.

#2 ·
I've had both.

From a practicality standpoint the 4 door is way better.

From a fun to rip around in standpoint the 2 door is in my opinion the winner.

If you want that rollerskate jeepy feel buy a Tj lol.

The 2 door Jk has plenty of wheelbase for 37s. my wife drove our 2 door to work every day down the highway. So it's 100% comfortable as a dd. but practicality if you carry passengers or gear isn't as nice as the 4 door.

#5 ·
You can stack a pretty good amount of crap in a 2dr without the back seat in there. If you require more stuff, I suppose a trailer will do. I've used one several times for hauling stuff, just not on the trail however.

#6 ·
I had a 4dr sold it and got a 2dr about 2 years ago. I very rarely used the extra space of the 4dr and I hardly ever have more then 2 people.

In the rocks I like the 2dr as it is more maneuverable and doesnt scrape the skid plates all the time. There are some situations where the wheelbase of a 4dr is better though.

I am happier driving the 2dr everyday although my 4dr was manual and the 2dr is auto so just that change added more comfort. There is a noticeable power difference with the lighter weight 2dr.

My 2dr is on 35s and isnt squirrelly so I couldnt imagine 37s would be much worse.