Aftermarket radio install (with pics) - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 Old 01-07-2008, 07:31 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 39
Posts: 6,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Aftermarket radio install (with pics)

this is for a double din radio but will be basicly the same for a single din,just a different kit. and dont mind the dust, i guess it gets everywhere

i used the metra double din kit and the metra chto -03 harness thats for the infinity system. the nice thing about the harness is it has the reverse and VSS and brake wire ( i bypassed the brake and ill tell you how) all in the harness. the bad side is its a large harness and there not much room to stuff it in the dash but it will all fit. now to bypass the D# you need to remove the mute wire from its harness and there is a empty slot directly across from where it was, put the mute wire in that spot and ground it and the p-brake wire. this will bypass the e-brake and make it so you can enter addresses while moving ****disclaimer**** if you wreck while whatching movies or messing with the gps, your a dumb ass, so be carefull.

first you need to remove the top portion of the dash, start at the rear and pop the back up first ant tip it up. you will most likely loose at least one of the clips that holds the rear part on, i lost both. a whole new panel is only $6 at the dealer.


next you need to remove the peice in front of the shifter, its just held on by 4 clips



now we will remove the peice around the radio, which also has the HVAC controlls on it, its held in by 4 7mm screws, you dont have to take the panel off just move it out enough to get the radio out



now you can remove the radio. in order to fit the pioneer AVIC-D3 you need to cut a bit of the radio area out, you can see in this pic what had to be cut



now all you need to do is get the harness in there and put everything back together in reverse order. heres what the finished product looks like



on a side note heres a pic of where to wire your stock 6 disc to get video out of it



any questions feel free to ask

'92 YJ
'13 WK2
BeerMonkeY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 32 Old 01-15-2008, 11:27 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to WTF_LOL

Hey, looks great!

Can you tell me about the headunit you chose like what features it has and why you went with that one?

Thanks! Nice write-up!
WTF_LOL is offline  
post #3 of 32 Old 01-19-2008, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 39
Posts: 6,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

basicly i picked the avic d3 cause i got a wicked deal on it from pioneer, through my work. it has nav which i thought would suck but its actually pretty good, it works better than my work vans cheap garmin and tom tom (i had both at one time). plays dvd video, its very easy to bypass, looks good, has ipod control and sat radio control, back up camera hook up and blue tooth. it reatails at my work for 999.99 and i got it for 400 so i figured it was a good deal

'92 YJ
'13 WK2
BeerMonkeY is offline  
 
post #4 of 32 Old 03-19-2008, 01:25 PM
Wheeler
 
JKmike07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Age: 32
Posts: 27
Feedback: 0 reviews
Thumbs up Nice install!

Now that is one sweet radio. Wish I could get one. Just a bit out of my wallets reach atm.

Unless you can lets say provide us with the same deal.


My Jeep is a lot like a supermodel with some scars.

From far away it looks good.

Up close you can see its imperfections but it still has a hot figure.
JKmike07 is offline  
post #5 of 32 Old 04-01-2008, 08:53 PM
lbh
Rock God
 
lbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CA
Age: 44
Posts: 689
Feedback: 0 reviews

That looks good. I contemplated the mygig set up, but opted out, that is a nice alternative.

2007 JK
lbh is offline  
post #6 of 32 Old 04-02-2008, 12:15 AM
Wheeler
 
2K1TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 42
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKmike07 View Post
Now that is one sweet radio. Wish I could get one. Just a bit out of my wallets reach atm.

Unless you can lets say provide us with the same deal.



Best Buy has them on sale for $699 an you get a factory $200 rebate on top of that. So you can have one for $500 plus tax. That's what I did. Still waiting on the rebate check though.
2K1TJ is offline  
post #7 of 32 Old 04-03-2008, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 39
Posts: 6,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

yep they are on sale this week. i didnt knwo about the rebate though, is it on pioneers site? on a side note a new double din pioneer came in the other day, its a non-nav unit and looks similar to the d3 and its about $500

'92 YJ
'13 WK2
BeerMonkeY is offline  
post #8 of 32 Old 04-06-2008, 11:54 AM
Wheeler
 
2K1TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 42
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeerMonkeY View Post
yep they are on sale this week. i didnt knwo about the rebate though, is it on pioneers site? on a side note a new double din pioneer came in the other day, its a non-nav unit and looks similar to the d3 and its about $500


Yeah, it's on Pioneer's site.
2K1TJ is offline  
post #9 of 32 Old 04-06-2008, 02:02 PM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeerMonkeY View Post
got it for 400 so i figured it was a good deal
Any chance you can get another one for $400?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #10 of 32 Old 04-08-2008, 07:18 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 39
Posts: 6,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

i could only order one, and it was a one month thing, prob just to get rid of them, i think there will be a newer coming out

'92 YJ
'13 WK2
BeerMonkeY is offline  
post #11 of 32 Old 07-16-2008, 12:38 PM
Granite Guru
 
93country's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Maple Rige BC
Posts: 123
Feedback: 0 reviews

Can you give us pin numbers for the video output?, also have you tried using the stock 6 disc as a video sending unit? how is the picture and what not?

Thanks.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
93country is offline  
post #12 of 32 Old 07-21-2008, 06:35 AM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 39
Posts: 6,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

looking at the beck of the radio with the plugs on th elower side its the left plug bottom row of pins NOT counting the large pin on the end it should be the 5th and 6th pin in from the left. the 5th pin is the negative side or the out side part of a RCA cable and the 6th is the postive or the middle wire on a RCA cable. and yes i did run a monitor from the stock deck and it works great, its a little hard to figure out the controls the first time but you can figure it out.

'92 YJ
'13 WK2
BeerMonkeY is offline  
post #13 of 32 Old 07-23-2008, 07:49 AM
Granite Guru
 
93country's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Maple Rige BC
Posts: 123
Feedback: 0 reviews

Sweet I'm going to pop out my head unit tonight when I get home and run an RCA out for some video watching.. Another question, does the video cut off while you are driving or will it play while you are going down the highway? I know most of the stereos that have in dash monitors will not display video while the vehicle is in motion.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
93country is offline  
post #14 of 32 Old 09-29-2008, 08:18 AM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 39
Posts: 6,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

the video will work at all times, driving or parked

'92 YJ
'13 WK2
BeerMonkeY is offline  
post #15 of 32 Old 10-03-2008, 09:25 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: tokyo
Age: 32
Posts: 158
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to wagonofdoom Send a message via MSN to wagonofdoom Send a message via Yahoo to wagonofdoom Send a message via Skype™ to wagonofdoom

do you know the pin for reverse camera?

USAF C-130 engines
2k8 JK 4dr
Mygig
2" spacers
teraflex 2.5
33x12.5 BGF M/T
wagonofdoom is offline  
post #16 of 32 Old 10-05-2008, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 39
Posts: 6,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

sorry no i dont.

'92 YJ
'13 WK2
BeerMonkeY is offline  
post #17 of 32 Old 12-19-2008, 11:39 AM
Wheeler
 
tenpenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Feedback: 0 reviews

nice write up and nice radio
tenpenny is offline  
post #18 of 32 Old 06-10-2009, 09:39 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 351
Feedback: 0 reviews

Hey, I just installed this stereo and can't get the video to work while driving. What did you do to get it to work? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
smokey is offline  
post #19 of 32 Old 06-19-2009, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 39
Posts: 6,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

go to avic411.com and it tells you how to bypass a pioneer d3

'92 YJ
'13 WK2
BeerMonkeY is offline  
post #20 of 32 Old 06-19-2009, 06:04 PM
Rock God
 
scottyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gainesville, FL
Age: 26
Posts: 976
Feedback: 0 reviews

Orrrr you could buy a D1 or D2 for cheap and then go on Avic411.com and download theD3 software
scottyp is offline  
post #21 of 32 Old 06-19-2009, 06:14 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 39
Posts: 6,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

i guess that coulod be a option, never looked into it.

'92 YJ
'13 WK2
BeerMonkeY is offline  
post #22 of 32 Old 06-19-2009, 06:44 PM
Rock God
 
scottyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gainesville, FL
Age: 26
Posts: 976
Feedback: 0 reviews



My Pionneer Avic F90-Bt with custom splash screen=) they sure do make a nice product
scottyp is offline  
post #23 of 32 Old 06-19-2009, 06:55 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 39
Posts: 6,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

i really cant complain about it, i reccomed them to people all the time

'92 YJ
'13 WK2
BeerMonkeY is offline  
post #24 of 32 Old 01-29-2010, 09:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Age: 38
Posts: 1
Feedback: 0 reviews

If you guys are in a budget, I just installed a new unit 7" screen 2 din, dvd, nav, mpe, cd etc from ebay at just under 300.00 bucks free shipping. I purchased and aftermarket harness for under 20 bucks. So i didnt have to splice my stock harness. Its from a power seller, so its warrantied and brand new in box
chops536 is offline  
post #25 of 32 Old 07-27-2011, 03:54 AM
Wheeler
 
OBXJeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Feedback: 0 reviews
Many thanks for this thread.

After studying this thread and a couple of others I was able to successfully install a Kenwood 9980HD in my 2010 Wrangler Unlimited.

Did find removal of the metal bracket in the back of the recess to be a little perplexing. The bracket was much bigger than the cavity. Ended up using bolt cutters to cut it in half. After that the rest of the install went sweet.

2010 Sahara
Mango Tango
Hard Top
Kenwood 9980HD w/ Garmin
OBXJeepster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome