Any Nor Cal pees have your Amateur Radio License? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 50 Old 01-03-2011, 09:59 PM Thread Starter
Rock God

Any Nor Cal peeps have your Amateur Radio License?

Anyone up here run Tech or General License? Anyone actually use it when wheeling up here?

Forgot to say, I will be testing Jan 22 if anyone wants to go get their license. Is $30 and lasts from 8-5

Last edited by Sludge Puppy; 01-29-2011 at 05:02 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 50 Old 01-03-2011, 10:00 PM
Rock God

KF6UIO. I am a Tech with plans to upgrade to General when my son goes for Tech. I have used it a few times but only a few people I run with have a ticket. I need to get a dash mount this spring because the handy is tough to operate and drive. But I do love it more than a CB.

Last edited by Eugene; 01-03-2011 at 10:06 PM.
post #3 of 50 Old 01-03-2011, 10:04 PM Thread Starter
Rock God

You keep a radio in the jeep? I keep thinking about putting a system in mine but have not seen any one else running up here! Used to be great to be in LA and yap with the boys at the hammers
post #4 of 50 Old 01-03-2011, 10:11 PM
Rock God

Won't necessarily keep it in the Jeep, but have a removable mobile installed. You get more power, and you can yak with people all over the place. Went to do the Mojave Rd last year with a buddy who has an ICOM moble, and he was talking with people all over CA and NV. Said it made the long drive interesting.
post #5 of 50 Old 01-03-2011, 10:17 PM Thread Starter
Rock God

I was thinking with cuts crew how some of them couldnt find the others with the CB if they ran on 10 band they would have been able to actually talk to them. Plus like you mentioned there is always someone on the air wanting to yap
post #6 of 50 Old 01-03-2011, 11:12 PM
JKO Addict!

I need to learn more about these Bacon Radios. I do not like not knowing about shit.

Someone spill it.

RC

A lot of chit coming...

W9DRC