Where is the WCM located? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 12-17-2011, 10:19 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Roanoke VA
Age: 50
Posts: 131
Feedback: 0 reviews
Where is the WCM located?

My 08 JK is having the intermittent "no crank" issue. Its done this since new and is well documented at the dealer but now that it has gone out of the bumper to bumper the issue has gotten worse and chrysler is not standing behind their product, not surprising.

I want to replace the WCM myself. Is this a DIY repair or will it need to be programmed?

How much does the WCM cost, How badly will the dealer rape me?

Where is it located?
xjtrailrider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 12-17-2011, 10:57 AM
Dumb
 
coilrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lower mainland
Age: 49
Posts: 1,156
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

The Ecu/ecm?
I have an appointment on monday to reflash mine. Hopefully it clears up an issue I created.
I checked the net and confirmed w/dealer. You can buy and install a replacement but it must be programmed with your vin. B&G sells them (others do also) so they may be able to provide info as to how to physically swap them. My understanding is that it is not overly difficult.
coilrod is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 12-17-2011, 09:13 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Roanoke VA
Age: 50
Posts: 131
Feedback: 0 reviews

Not the ECU

The "Wireless Control Module"

My JK will not start/crank at times. There is a TSB about the WCM getting hit with static electricity when the key is inserted and it causes a "no crank" issue.

I have had it into the dealer no less than 5 times for this issue(had it towed in once) since I bought it new in Nov 08. Now that it is out of the 3-36 bumper to bumper warranty they are refusing to cover the repair under warranty. I refuse to give those pricks a red cent.

I am a diesel mechanic and do all of my own repairs to my older Jeeps so I might as well get my feet wet right now and fix this issue and start learning something about this pile of junk Jeep that I own. I believe this is just the beginning of a whole lot of issues.
xjtrailrider is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 12-18-2011, 06:29 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Roanoke VA
Age: 50
Posts: 131
Feedback: 0 reviews

Okay, I found this with a google search; This describes my condition exactly

"2008 Wrangler Unlimited: Will not start after a short drive.

Will not start after a short drive. The starter engages for a very short time then just stops. It has been looked at by the Dealer four times now and still no solution. They have replaced sensors and control modules, no luck. We just went to pick it up from the Dealer [5 Start Dealer] and it wouldn't start. They hooked up the diagnostics computer which showed nothing. with the computer still connected it still would not start and the computer did not help. We kept the key turned to the starting position and the computer showed that that it was in the starting mode and thats it. It acts like a bad battery, however, the battery is OK and ever other electrical device in the vehicle works when the Jeep doesn't start. Sometimes it takes more than thirty [30] tries before it finally starts. The Dealer does not know what to do."


Answer from a CJD SF;

"Seen this problem before. Here is your solution im the foreman for a jeep dealership.

During cranking/starting, the ignition switch voltage should drop to about 0.4 to 0.5volts and the switch status should show start/crank. If the ignition switch status shows FF, that is an undermined switch status. The ignition switch voltage is supplied by a voltage regulator (5volts) with-in the WCM (WIRELESS CONTROL MODULE). This regulator not only feeds the ignition switch with voltage, but if the vehicle has remote start, it all so powers the WCM antenna. So, items that affect the ignition switch voltage readings would include the power or ground circuits to the WCM, ignition switch and the WCM antenna. The WCM antenna can short and take down the ignition switch voltage. A shorted antenna can cause issues with the WCM functioning properly, i.e. starting and or key programming. Check antenna wire for damage or try and unplug the WCM antenna and recheck the ignition switch voltage.
Take this copy to your dealership and check for radio interference. Good luck with your wrangler got an 08 4 door rubicon I have not had this problem with mine yet. Hope this helps you please rate it."


Then another person added this;

"had the same prob on my 2008 quick fix buy a neg battery cable thats open looped on both ends connect one end to the neg battery post and the other to the bracket holding the alternater. very quick and will sole your problem."

I'm going to try the ground strap idea, can't hurt!

I also plan on looking at the WCM antenna if I can find it but if its shorted that falls on Jeep and they should stand behind it IMHO.
xjtrailrider is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 12-18-2011, 07:18 AM
Granite Guru
 
CarmanJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cheboygan, Michigan
Posts: 270
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews

I have an 07 Rubicon automatic and mine does this on occasion and if I just bump the shifter either forward or back (not take it out of park or move it at all) just give it a bump it starts right up. I have been told there is a range sensor in the transmission that acts like the old neutral safety switches in older Jeeps. It is inside the transmission or I would have fixed it already! If you have an auto bump the shifter next time and see if it starts.
CarmanJK is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 12-18-2011, 07:33 AM
Granite Guru
 
toolmanTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CT
Age: 43
Posts: 303
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by xjtrailrider View Post
Its done this since new and is well documented at the dealer but now that it has gone out of the bumper to bumper the issue has gotten worse and chrysler is not standing behind their product,
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjtrailrider View Post
I have had it into the dealer no less than 5 times for this issue(had it towed in once) since I bought it new in Nov 08. Now that it is out of the 3-36 bumper to bumper warranty they are refusing to cover the repair under warranty. I refuse to give those pricks a red cent.
If it is so well documented at the dealer why not drop a call to the 1-877-426-5337 (1-877-IAM-JEEP) line? But then again who's to say the dealer plays no idea who this guy is routine.

'10 Surf 2Door Rubicon

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
gettin' Built

'01
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<-Vid Flexin' Muscle

6.2 liter ls3 2011 Jku with axles , shafts , and other beef on 37" toyos.
toolmanTim is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 12-18-2011, 08:33 AM
Granite Guru
 
Tat2dfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 265
Feedback: 0 reviews

Its mounted on the steering column but it needs to be programed for it to work.
Tat2dfreak is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 12-18-2011, 09:38 AM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 28
Posts: 1,060
Feedback: 4 reviews

Not sure the price but I belive the factory remote start includes a new one. So I know they are around 300 online? So if you want to kill two birds that ways...
beedle4 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 12-18-2011, 11:37 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Roanoke VA
Age: 50
Posts: 131
Feedback: 0 reviews

Well the range sensor makes sense! Last night when it did this I turned the key to run and shifted the trans into neutral and it started right up.

I have the factory remote start and I have had issues with that not working simultaneously when the no crank with a key happens.
xjtrailrider is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 12-18-2011, 06:33 PM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarmanJK View Post
I have an 07 Rubicon automatic and mine does this on occasion and if I just bump the shifter either forward or back (not take it out of park or move it at all) just give it a bump it starts right up. I have been told there is a range sensor in the transmission that acts like the old neutral safety switches in older Jeeps. It is inside the transmission or I would have fixed it already! If you have an auto bump the shifter next time and see if it starts.

^^^
Try this!

This is a pretty common issue

Mine will do it occasionally and smack on the shifter fixes it every time.


Like you said in your last post - it started right up after you moved the shifter.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 12-18-2011, 07:49 PM
Wheeler
 
MicroMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Manassas, VA
Age: 53
Posts: 94
Feedback: 0 reviews

My '07 does it too. Push the shifter forward (in park) and it'll start every time. I'm thinking my shifter cable needs to be adjusted.
MicroMark is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 12-19-2011, 01:28 PM
JKO Addict!
 
SoK66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Four Corners
Posts: 3,879
Feedback: 2 reviews

I had this happen right in front of my local dealer on a Sunday. Figured it was a key issue. Wouldn't crank and the remote would not work in any mode. Tried the spare key, no difference. Went back home for my tools and checked the web. I found a thread on another forum that discussed this issue, and offered a simple workaround that works:

- Lift the hood, open the fuse box
- Lift up fuse J13 (big white double fuseholder near the center of the box) until it is unplugged from the fuse panel. It will stop before you can pull it all the way out. Just lift it to the stops
- Wait 30 seconds
- Push the fuse holder back in until it seats

Rig will start right up.

I went into my dealer and told them what happened and what I'd found on the web. Their tech knew immediately what the issue was and replaced the WCM under warranty. OP, your dealership is a pack of douchebags. Take it to another dealer and ask them to fix it under goodwill. If they refuse, call the Chrysler Customer Center and raise hell. This is a well documented issue with a TSB.
SoK66 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 12-19-2011, 03:21 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Roanoke VA
Age: 50
Posts: 131
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoK66 View Post
I had this happen right in front of my local dealer on a Sunday. Figured it was a key issue. Wouldn't crank and the remote would not work in any mode. Tried the spare key, no difference. Went back home for my tools and checked the web. I found a thread on another forum that discussed this issue, and offered a simple workaround that works:

- Lift the hood, open the fuse box
- Lift up fuse J13 (big white double fuseholder near the center of the box) until it is unplugged from the fuse panel. It will stop before you can pull it all the way out. Just lift it to the stops
- Wait 30 seconds
- Push the fuse holder back in until it seats

Rig will start right up.

I went into my dealer and told them what happened and what I'd found on the web. Their tech knew immediately what the issue was and replaced the WCM under warranty. OP, your dealership is a pack of douchebags. Take it to another dealer and ask them to fix it under goodwill. If they refuse, call the Chrysler Customer Center and raise hell. This is a well documented issue with a TSB.
I plan on doing that. What the service manager does not know is that I'm good friends with the GM. I plan on talking with him and get this resolved.
xjtrailrider is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 12-21-2011, 07:04 PM
Granite Guru
 
Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Biloxi,MS
Age: 46
Posts: 148
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by xjtrailrider View Post
I plan on doing that. What the service manager does not know is that I'm good friends with the GM. I plan on talking with him and get this resolved.
Good luck, the GM doesnt make the decision on "Goodwills", the service manager has to call his rep. and get it approved.. either way, good luck
You have a good case for getting this resolved.

The WCM can be installed easily, but it has to be programmed, and to do this takes the "secret key code" and WiTech.
Demon is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 12-21-2011, 08:16 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Roanoke VA
Age: 50
Posts: 131
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon View Post
Good luck, the GM doesnt make the decision on "Goodwills", the service manager has to call his rep. and get it approved.. either way, good luck
You have a good case for getting this resolved.

The WCM can be installed easily, but it has to be programmed, and to do this takes the "secret key code" and WiTech.
Thats what I was afraid of. But what if the issue is the range sensor? The range sensor is attached to the tranny so wouldn't that be covered under my lifetime powertrain warranty?

I Think it may very well be the range sensor since I can "wiggle" the shifter and it will crank as it should.
xjtrailrider is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 12-26-2011, 10:02 AM
Granite Guru
 
Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Biloxi,MS
Age: 46
Posts: 148
Feedback: 0 reviews

More than likely the TR sensor would be covered because it is part of the valve body but you will need to contact your dealer with your VIN so they can run a VIP function and see if it is covered
Demon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome