ABS Sensor/wheel speed sensor - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum  

Go Back   JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum > JK Tech > Electrical & Lighting Tech Dept.

JKOwners.com is the premier Jeep JK Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 08:26 PM   #1
H8T2W8T
Rock God
 
H8T2W8T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Member # 1689
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 613
Feedback: 0 reviews
ABS Sensor/wheel speed sensor

BAD NEWS
Well, I broke the ABS sensor that mounts to my front left disc assembly. Now my jeep is lighting up like x-mas tree. I was all over the road today from the broken sensor. I think it(Jeep Brain) was thinking I was in a perpetual slide and tried braking the various wheels to compensate. Either way, it was hard to just drive straight.

GOOD NEWS
they only cost $15 per front side and I pick it up in the morning



That is all.
__________________
BIG RED JEEP

My Build

www.OverbuiltCustoms.com
H8T2W8T is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2009, 08:27 PM   #2
WTF_LOL
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 100
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
do you have a part number?
WTF_LOL is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2009, 08:43 PM   #3
H8T2W8T
Rock God
 
H8T2W8T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Member # 1689
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 613
Feedback: 0 reviews
Not at the moment, but I pick up the part tomorrow. I'll post it up here when I get it. I was thinking about getting 2, seeing as they're so cheap(relatively), but unless I have a buddy rip it out again(not likely) I don't have the need of a 2nd.
__________________
BIG RED JEEP

My Build

www.OverbuiltCustoms.com
H8T2W8T is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-10-2009, 03:58 AM   #4
BeerMonkeY
JKO Addict!
 
BeerMonkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Member # 148
Location: Lake Winola, PA
Age: 36
Posts: 5,854
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
thats weird it made it drive funny, i broke a rear one and it just made my esp and abs not work.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by alt_phil View Post
Who ya gonna call? Who gives a shit, I'm awesome!
BeerMonkeY is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-10-2009, 07:27 AM   #5
WTF_LOL
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 100
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Yah, that was what I was wondering. I may have broke one. My dash is lighting up but I am not experienceing any issues with the system acting up, in fact, just the opposite.

I have to check something else first but I think it is the sensor.
WTF_LOL is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2009, 09:25 AM   #6
MUD707
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Member # 2557
Posts: 195
Feedback: 0 reviews
I just had mine break when I was replacing the ball joints on the driver side. it just made the abs and esp lights come on. Drove it for 3 days till the new one came in didn't have a problem. Popped the new one in reconnected it drove about 50 ft and all my idiot lights went back off.
MUD707 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2009, 12:02 PM   #7
karnuvore
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Member # 1688
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Age: 41
Posts: 10,251
Feedback: 0 reviews
If you turn off ESP - wont that stop the brain from making you zigzag all over the road?
karnuvore is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2009, 08:50 PM   #8
f5driver
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 866
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 42
Feedback: 0 reviews
MUD707,

How did you replace the sensors? I'm pretty sure I broke one on my right rear wheel. My ABS and ESP lights are on after hitting a rock pretty hard.
f5driver is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2009, 09:01 PM   #9
WTF_LOL
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 100
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by f5driver View Post
MUD707,

How did you replace the sensors? I'm pretty sure I broke one on my right rear wheel. My ABS and ESP lights are on after hitting a rock pretty hard.
  • Remove tire
  • Remove caliper
  • Remove rotor
  • You will see the sensor at this point. Just follow the ABS wire down to where it bolts in just the housing. There is a single Allen head bolt. I forget the size offhand.
  • Remove bolt
  • CAREFULLY remove sensor from housing (they break easily)
  • fanagal it out of the hole in the dust sheild
  • follow the cable up behind the shock tower where you will find a clip to unhook cable
  • Tease your cat for a while with the old wiring
  • reverse directions to install new sensor being super carefull when you insert it and be sure to keep debris from falling in the open hole.

I don't recall if the new ones come pre lubed??
WTF_LOL is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-12-2009, 06:23 AM   #10
f5driver
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 866
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 42
Feedback: 0 reviews
Talking

Thanks. The sensors arrive tomorrow and
I'll get er done. Gotta find a cat though...
f5driver is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-12-2009, 06:41 AM   #11
H8T2W8T
Rock God
 
H8T2W8T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Member # 1689
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 613
Feedback: 0 reviews
Forgot all about this one. The sensor I received didn't come pre-lubed. I used a little lithium grease to ease it in.
__________________
BIG RED JEEP

My Build

www.OverbuiltCustoms.com
H8T2W8T is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2009, 04:06 AM   #12
mtnmedic
Granite Guru
 
mtnmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 130
Location: Denver
Posts: 113
Feedback: 0 reviews
I just saw this thread, so after my recent battery replacement which only temporarily solved all my lights going off; I had a code scan done which gave me U1110 and U1120. So now I am pretty sure it is the sensor which is bad, but how do I know which one it is?

Also, does anyone know what the part number is so I know what to order?

thanks
__________________
2012 Sahara Tan Unlimited Rubicon
mtnmedic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2009, 06:03 AM   #13
Alter Ego
Granite Guru
 
Alter Ego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Member # 3235
Location: Michigan
Posts: 495
Feedback: 0 reviews
mtnmedic, your trouble codes refer to communications over CAN bus C, not the wheel sensors. Wheel sensor problem codes are preceded by the letter C, not U. The FSM says your codes are a problem with the Powertrain control module, the antilock brake module, or the wiring in between. If it was the wiring, you should have a lost communications code too.

To me, it sounds like the ABS module is still confused from having a bad battery. I would try disconnecting the battery for a few minutes to see if that will reset the problem. Did you clear all trouble codes after the battery replacement? Does the ABS system still actually work? How about ESP?
__________________
KD8NHC
08 4 Door Rubicon
Member of Two Trackers 4wd Club
Great Lakes Four Wheel Drive Association
United Four Wheel Drive Associations
Alter Ego is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2009, 11:59 AM   #14
mtnmedic
Granite Guru
 
mtnmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 130
Location: Denver
Posts: 113
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alter Ego View Post
mtnmedic, your trouble codes refer to communications over CAN bus C, not the wheel sensors. Wheel sensor problem codes are preceded by the letter C, not U. The FSM says your codes are a problem with the Powertrain control module, the antilock brake module, or the wiring in between. If it was the wiring, you should have a lost communications code too.

To me, it sounds like the ABS module is still confused from having a bad battery. I would try disconnecting the battery for a few minutes to see if that will reset the problem. Did you clear all trouble codes after the battery replacement? Does the ABS system still actually work? How about ESP?
Thanks for your thoughts. I just found my .iso FSM and burned it to a disk this morning but didn't seem to find a reference to the codes. what section did you see it in.

I haven't tried to see if the ABS is still working, but will slam on my brakes on a dirt road tomorrow and see it it activates. It's pretty frustrating as I am outside of my warranty and any stealership is sure to jack me if I cant figure this out.

I'll let you know tomorrow about the ABS.
__________________
2012 Sahara Tan Unlimited Rubicon
mtnmedic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2009, 01:43 PM   #15
Alter Ego
Granite Guru
 
Alter Ego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Member # 3235
Location: Michigan
Posts: 495
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnmedic View Post
what section did you see it in.
Service Info/9 - Engine/Engine Electrical Diagnostics - Gas/Engine Electrical Diagnostics - Gas/Diagnosis and Testing/

Than manual is a real pain to find anything in.
__________________
KD8NHC
08 4 Door Rubicon
Member of Two Trackers 4wd Club
Great Lakes Four Wheel Drive Association
United Four Wheel Drive Associations
Alter Ego is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2009, 06:11 PM   #16
mtnmedic
Granite Guru
 
mtnmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 130
Location: Denver
Posts: 113
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alter Ego View Post
Service Info/9 - Engine/Engine Electrical Diagnostics - Gas/Engine Electrical Diagnostics - Gas/Diagnosis and Testing/

Than manual is a real pain to find anything in.
great thanks, only now internet explorer wont open the files anymore. I hate how you cant use firefox etc. I'll try an reboot and check it out.

thanks again

***nevermind, i figured out I can run it with Firefox in Internet Explorer mode.******

....uh, oh. after following the flow chart in the FSM, it says, "Replace and program the Powertrain Control Module per Service Information."
that cant be good or cheap. F&*k, F#^K, F*@k!
__________________
2012 Sahara Tan Unlimited Rubicon

Last edited by mtnmedic; 09-12-2009 at 06:18 PM. Reason: update
mtnmedic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2009, 06:38 PM   #17
Alter Ego
Granite Guru
 
Alter Ego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Member # 3235
Location: Michigan
Posts: 495
Feedback: 0 reviews
Every time I run the FSM, Vista gives me a warning on top of my screen that says "To help protect your security, Internet Explorer has restricted this webpage from running scripts or ActiveX controls that could access your computer. Click here for options". Then I have to allow the blocked content to open the manual.
__________________
KD8NHC
08 4 Door Rubicon
Member of Two Trackers 4wd Club
Great Lakes Four Wheel Drive Association
United Four Wheel Drive Associations
Alter Ego is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2009, 06:45 PM   #18
mtnmedic
Granite Guru
 
mtnmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 130
Location: Denver
Posts: 113
Feedback: 0 reviews
well, I too am running Vista on this machine and 7 on by backup. Luckily the FSM seems to run fine with Firefox in Internet Explorer mode. I remember when I first got the FSM, they said don't update IE because it would only run on pre version 8. i haven't tried it on the Windows 7 machine yet.

Typical chrylser.
__________________
2012 Sahara Tan Unlimited Rubicon
mtnmedic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2009, 07:05 PM   #19
tkob1060
JKO Addict!
 
tkob1060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Member # 5021
Location: NJ :)
Age: 45
Posts: 7,281
Feedback: 0 reviews
i would try leaving the battery disconnected overnight
__________________
A LITTLE GIRL NEEDS YOUR HELP CLICK HERE

She still needs your help in 2011 click HERE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancin Dan View Post
A Jeep just zipped past my house and I could swear I heard the driver yellin:

"The tkob is coming!! The tkob is coming!!"
tkob1060 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2009, 05:21 AM   #20
mtnmedic
Granite Guru
 
mtnmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 130
Location: Denver
Posts: 113
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkob1060 View Post
i would try leaving the battery disconnected overnight
oh, I'm already a pro at doing that. it will clear the codes for a day or so and then sometimes, without even hitting a bump or crack in the road, i get the christmas lights. the lights flash and then the esp, BAS (i think) usually stay on until I turn the jeep off, then when i get it back on, the check engine light is on.

I love driving it when the BRAKE light is on, I always check to make sure the emergency brake didnt somehow pull itself on!
__________________
2012 Sahara Tan Unlimited Rubicon
mtnmedic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-30-2009, 04:29 PM   #21
f5driver
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 866
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 42
Feedback: 0 reviews
My Jeep is showing a "configuration" code due to my electronic sway bar system being replaced with a Currie anti-rock. The dealer says that the is the reason for my "wheel speed sensor calibration" code. I find it hard believe since everything worked fine for 18 months. Now I can't get rid of the ESP/BAS and ABS lights. Any idea what a "wheel speed calibration" code means? Is there a different code if a sensor is broken? I'm going back to the dealer tomorrow for yet another look but they are having a hard time figuring it out.
f5driver is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2009, 04:10 PM   #22
f5driver
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 866
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 42
Feedback: 0 reviews
The dealer service manager looked at the Jeep today. They are still blaming the ESP/BAS and ABS lights on the missing electronic sway bar. They say the ESP module is looking for the sway bar system which has been removed. It's frustrating because I seem to be the only one with this problem and my warranty is just about up. Any suggestions?
f5driver is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2009, 04:55 PM   #23
bubba2u
Rock God
 
bubba2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Member # 5552
Location: Orlando, florida
Posts: 1,738
Feedback: 1 reviews
there are others on here that have made the sway bar manual with a switch. hope they will chime in because i would think that taking the circuit board out of the sway bar would be like not having it at all if it were hooked up to the computer on the jeep.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukecage View Post
If I hear banjos I'm out! I almost feel like an alien being a black guy in a jeep already, this is gonna be a real adventure
bubba2u is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2009, 05:01 PM   #24
Alter Ego
Granite Guru
 
Alter Ego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Member # 3235
Location: Michigan
Posts: 495
Feedback: 0 reviews
The dealer's service department has the means of removing the ASBS option code from the vehicles computer with the Chrysler scan tool. That way the computer won't look for the Final Drive Control Module.

The following info is from the FSM
__________________________________________________ _____________

C123A–ESP SYSTEM SENSORS CALIBRATION
For a complete wiring diagram Refer to Section 8W.



When Monitored:
Once per ignition cycle.

Set Condition:
If the calculated checksum does not match the stored checksum.


Possible Causes

ANTI-LOCK BRAKES MODULE



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



Diagnostic Test
1. INITIALIZE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES MODULE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Initialize ECU refer to ABS VERIFICATION TEST. (Refer to 5 - BRAKES - STANDARD PROCEDURE).

Does this DTC reset?

Yes

Replace the Anti-Lock Brake Module in accordance with the Service Information.
Perform ABS VERIFICATION TEST. (Refer to 5 - BRAKES - STANDARD PROCEDURE).


No

Test complete.
__________________
KD8NHC
08 4 Door Rubicon
Member of Two Trackers 4wd Club
Great Lakes Four Wheel Drive Association
United Four Wheel Drive Associations
Alter Ego is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2009, 10:16 PM   #25
f5driver
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 866
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 42
Feedback: 0 reviews
Here are the codes the Jeep is showing:

1. ABS C2206 Vehicle Configuration Mismatched

2. ABS C123A ESP System Sensors Calibration

3. TIPM U1159 Lost Communication with Automatic Sway Bar System

The dealer says "these codes cannot be erased and the lights will not go out until the sway bar system is back in the vehicle". Hard to figure because the sway bar system has been out of the Jeep for 2 years with no problems.
f5driver is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.