Detroit TrueTrac vs. Eaton ELocker: Which one where? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum  

Go Back   JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum > JK Tech > Modified JK Tech Dept.

JKOwners.com is the premier Jeep JK Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2010, 02:00 PM   #1
chrispage
Wheeler

Member # 10507
Detroit TrueTrac vs. Eaton ELocker: Which one where?

Yes, I've Googled this and read about a thousand different opinions, but the opinions are all over the board (no pun intended).

I'm a Jeep newbie, and I'm looking for more/better traction in mud, but also on the road snow/ice. I've got a 2010 JK Unlimited Mountain Edition (non-Rubi, Dana 44/Dana 30). This is my daily driver, which I also pull motocross bikes on the weekend and do some light to moderate trail/log/mud/stream off-roading (maybe more difficult terrain as I get more experience). I live in Louisville, KY, which also means we get 6"-18" of snow a year, and at least once a winter we get a week's worth of solid ice on the roads. We also get a lot of rain in the Spring.

So I'm thinking some combination of Eaton ELocker(s) and Detroit TrueTrac LSD's. My question is: which one do I put in the front, and which in the rear, for the best all around traction and performance for my lifestyle above? I've read "ELockers everywhere" and "you don't want TrueTrac up front in snow" or some say not in the rear, others say don't go ELockers for both because you'll have no diff slip control in 2WD, others say TrueTrac front and back, etc....

2nd (newbie) question: Do I have to be in 4Lo to engage the ELockers, or can I also run them in 4Hi? Can you lock one diff in 2WD?

Also, I'm not some super mechanic that is going to be dissecting gearboxes in my spare time. I have a wife and five boys; if I manage a trip to commode without interruption it's a miracle. So low maintenance/high reliability is a must.