JK Subwoofer - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum  

Go Back   JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum > JK Tech > Write Up Dept. (The Library)

JKOwners.com is the premier Jeep JK Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2008, 01:01 PM   #1
Grover
Granite Guru
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1455
Posts: 306
Feedback: 0 reviews
JK Subwoofer

I posted this on another forum, and a lot of people seemed to be interested in it. So I thought I would just copy/paste it here. Some of you prolly have seen it:

This is my first write up, so I apologize if it sucks. I have been looking for the right subwoofer solution for me for a while. It seems like to get good sound you have to give up your cargo space. Well I refuse to compromise. I wanted to have cargo room, and still have the locking storage usable in the back. My jeep is a 2 door, but it should work on a unlim. too.

OK enough jibba-jabba. I bought a P3L-S12 by Rockford Fosgate at my local Best Buy. It is a loaded slim box with a 12" P3 woofer. This thing rocked loud wide open in the store and is less than 6" thick. I got the idea from a stealth pod to mount it to the tail gate. I am sure that another downfire setup would rock harder but I promise this smokes the factory sub, and the basslink etc. There isn't much to explain, so I will show you what I did.

I got some L-shape brackets from Lowe's and some body screws and attached them to the gate with foam behind them.

(they are level and straight. the angle is an illusion)

then I bolted the sub to them and attached the side brackets that came with the sub. ( i made some spacers out of plastic to fit better)


thats it. pretty easy. I had a hard time drilling the tail gate but I am so glad I did it looks and sounds great.

here you can see it installed:

the carpet isn't as dark as it looks in the pics

here are some day shots:








here it is before I plugged it in. notice that it clears the latch on the floor:

Last edited by Grover; 08-03-2008 at 01:05 PM. Reason: photos
Grover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-03-2008, 01:04 PM   #2
Grover
Granite Guru
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1455
Posts: 306
Feedback: 0 reviews
Here are the finished locations of the amp and wiring:

I cut a piece of wood,carpeted it, and bent up some brackets so I could put the amp under the seat without it being on the floor. You can pull out all the carpet without removing any audio stuff. the amp is a 2 or 3 inches from the floor.


For the speaker wire I didn't want to have to plug something in every time I shut the door. I also didn't want to see wire everywhere. So I undid the zip ties that hold that nylon sleeve that the 3rd brake wires and stuff go through to the tailgate and ran the speaker wire through there. I don't know what you call that sleeve. I reclosed the factory zip tie retainers and this is what I got:


There was no way to hide all the wire, the place on the box that you plug it in is real visible. I took some of that plastic wire loom stuff,some zip ties, banana plugs and a little shrink wrap and came up with this:


I hope that all makes sense, If you have any questions or want photos of anything in particular let me know. Any comments/suggestions greatly welcomed.

Last edited by Grover; 08-03-2008 at 02:18 PM.
Grover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2008, 01:14 PM   #3
Grover
Granite Guru
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1455
Posts: 306
Feedback: 0 reviews
The soundbar speakers blow a donkey d**k so I put these in:

The speaker looks purple, but it isn't. Model is RS62. The dash is soon getting the component set by crossfire called X6. they require an adapter to mount them in that 3 prong chrysler opening. You can get them at the local audio hut, or best buy.


I had this old pioneer CD player in the closet but since it has HPF and Subwoofer controls along with decent EQ and other sound processing I swapped it in. It looks cheesy with the animation and stuff, but this old deck sounds awesome.


My friend Frank sent me a 6 disk factory DVD changer (he is f#$%ing awesome) so I am taking the pioneer out. If anyone wants a great older deck for cheap make me an offer. It has the factory remote and detatch. face case too.
Grover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2008, 05:18 PM   #4
Grover
Granite Guru
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1455
Posts: 306
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by suthernjeeper View Post
nice
Thanks!

Check this out... I was going to install a 6 disk DVD changer, but instead I got a Mygig RER for only $260 shipped. It was brand new in the box. Couldn't pass that up. I am using a cheap wal-mart line lever converter. They work as well as any. A friend gave me a coastal (lockpick) mic. So now I have U-connect hands free calling and Voice Recognition. I am loving the VR.
line lever converter:

Mic location:

U-connect:

Looks great in the dash:

New in the box:
Grover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2008, 04:49 AM   #5
Grant211
JKO Addict!
 
Grant211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 92
Location: Orlando, Florida
Age: 38
Posts: 5,703
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grover View Post
I posted this on another forum, and a lot of people seemed to be interested in it. So I thought I would just copy/paste it here. Some of you prolly have seen it:
What? This website is not your FIRST choice in sharing information? That's so wrong.




just kidding man.... thanks for sharing the information!
Grant211 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2008, 07:14 AM   #6
John L
Rock God
 
John L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Member # 24
Posts: 963
Feedback: 0 reviews
Did you have to do anything else other than plug in the Mygig for it to work? I've almost been thinking about finding a pull out. I know a guy that owns an install shop, I'd probably get one cheap if not free...
__________________
/jl

Healthy is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die.
John L is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-31-2008, 03:50 PM   #7
PIG
JKowners Vendor
 
PIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 119
Location: SLO, CA
Posts: 2,429
Feedback: 1 reviews
Just got done doing a similar install...... It came out pretty good. Below is a list of the items I used.

Sony - 52W x 4 AppleŽ iPodŽ/Satellite Radio/HD Radio-Ready Marine CD Deck

Rockford Fosgate - Punch 400W Class AB Bridgeable 4-Channel Amplifier

Rockford Fosgate - Punch 12" 4-Ohm Single Subwoofer With Enclosure

Now I got some boomboom....

IMO, the factory speakers were good enough for now at least.
__________________
Click the sig for everything you need to build a JK... 805-783-2060
NEW PRODUCTS ADDED DAILY !!!
www.SynergyMFG.com ----> Click and download the new catalog!!!
PIG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-31-2008, 10:24 PM   #8
ColinW
Wheeler
 
ColinW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Member # 1580
Posts: 93
Feedback: 0 reviews
Not being a sound guru (i.e. I'm perfectly happy with the stock sound system), I think your set up looks pretty nice...good job!
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "HOLY $HIT...WHAT A RIDE!"
ColinW is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2008, 07:09 AM   #9
Crazy X
Rock God
 
Crazy X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Member # 1692
Location: Lorida Florida
Posts: 786
Feedback: 0 reviews
I really like your setup. I saw your post on the other Forum and I was really interested in it.I have a box in the back of my jeep with 2 Sony's the problem is it weighs alot.Thinking of getting rid of it and doing something like what you did
Crazy X is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2008, 08:24 PM   #10
Grover
Granite Guru
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1455
Posts: 306
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazy X View Post
I really like your setup. I saw your post on the other Forum and I was really interested in it.I have a box in the back of my jeep with 2 Sony's the problem is it weighs alot.Thinking of getting rid of it and doing something like what you did
thanks gentlemen.
Grover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2008, 10:27 PM   #11
StubEXrube
Super Moderator
 
StubEXrube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1473
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 13,215
Garage
Feedback: 5 reviews
Another option to relocate sub...

I relocated my sub to the "storage thing" in the back. Since its a pain to access that area, I thought this would be a good spot. I removed the sub from the factory plastic housing and made a simple wooden box...(actually a piece of plywood and a couple of pieces of 2x4). I cut a hole (w/ jigsaw) in the top of it and securely bolted up the speaker. Then cut a hole in the carpeted cover and reinstalled the grill. It was very easy and I now have the sub and some more room in the back. If anyone wants to see any additional pics, then no problem.
Attached Images
 
StubEXrube is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2008, 12:31 PM   #12
Grover
Granite Guru
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1455
Posts: 306
Feedback: 0 reviews
I thought long and hard about putting a sub where you have it. I have a crossfire 12 I was going to put in that spot. I decided I wanted to use the lockable storage of it and I want to get that woods kit that makes it deeper. I was super close to mounting one right there though. good idea using the factory sub there. how is the sound?
Grover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2008, 12:48 PM   #13
StubEXrube
Super Moderator
 
StubEXrube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1473
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 13,215
Garage
Feedback: 5 reviews
I worried about the quality (as I likes me thump!). It is 100% awesome. I thought that maybe it would cause it to thud instead of thump or to be not heard as well. But I am amazed at the quality and control of the sound. It doesnt dampen the thump either. I originally thought I would have to spray some herculiner or use a dynomat to keep the sound clean and responsive, but didn't feel the need after hearing it. I would never consider mounting it anywhere else now. I can rarely justify turning the bass knob up completely because the overall sound of the upgraded OEM system sounds that good. I have had Alpine/ Memphis/ JL systems in the past and now I am considering selling my JL 250wt amp, Alpine head, and JL 10" sub.
StubEXrube is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2008, 01:26 PM   #14
Grover
Granite Guru
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1455
Posts: 306
Feedback: 0 reviews
I had that old pioneer in mine for a while, It has high and low pass filters and parametric eq among other equalization features. That deck made the factory speakers sound like high end ones. I wish the mygig sounded as good as that old pioneer.

good work stub. I like the factory look of it.
Grover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2008, 01:35 PM   #15
StubEXrube
Super Moderator
 
StubEXrube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1473
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 13,215
Garage
Feedback: 5 reviews
Grover...looks like you've got some mad install/ wiring skills. Your set up looks killer too.
StubEXrube is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2008, 02:30 PM   #16
Grover
Granite Guru
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1455
Posts: 306
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by John L View Post
Did you have to do anything else other than plug in the Mygig for it to work? I've almost been thinking about finding a pull out. I know a guy that owns an install shop, I'd probably get one cheap if not free...
sorry I didn't see this before. The day I installed it I also tried out a 6 disk my friend gave me. The dealer told me that with either I would have to have the starscan hooked up. This was not the case. The 6d made a bunch of clicks and motor sounds, then worked perfect. The mygig said chrysler on the screen when I first turned it on but the second time it said jeep and all the menus said jeep. The navigation said GPS not activated, so I left it over night. The next day I start to drive it and the GPS works perfect. Everything works perfect, no dealer starscan needed. Plug and Play.

thanks stub. I am proud of it.

hey pig... you have a photo of yours?
Grover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2008, 08:22 AM   #17
1guy
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Member # 2101
Age: 39
Posts: 33
Feedback: 0 reviews
Nice Job.
1guy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2008, 12:47 PM   #18
Grover
Granite Guru
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1455
Posts: 306
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1guy View Post
Nice Job.
thanks man
Grover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2008, 04:35 PM   #19
SRTpusher
Rock God
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Member # 1970
Location: San Antonio
Age: 40
Posts: 521
Feedback: 0 reviews
how did you get an RER for $250!?!?!?
SRTpusher is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-13-2008, 09:31 AM   #20
Grover
Granite Guru
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1455
Posts: 306
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRTpusher View Post
how did you get an RER for $250!?!?!?
A dealer listed one on ebay that they bought for a chrysler car that was the wrong model. They listed it in the wrong section of ebay, so no one bid on it. They had a starting bid of only $300 but since no one bid I emailed them on the last day and said I would give them $250 plus shipping for it right now. They said they were just trying to recover some of the cost from getting the wrong one and they had hoped to get more but they accepted my offer. With shipping it cost me $260. It was new in the box, but it was only the RER itself not the GPS antenna or sat radio stuff. I bought a GPS antenna from the dealer for $31. So it cost me $291 total for a new Mygig RER. Don't get mad. I know it is a retarded good deal.
Grover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2008, 09:29 PM   #21
SRTpusher
Rock God
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Member # 1970
Location: San Antonio
Age: 40
Posts: 521
Feedback: 0 reviews
oh i was not mad at all! actually that was a SMOKIN deal!!! i got mine for $550 as a pull out. ($750 - $200 live.com rebate).

after selling my 6 disc, i will be in it for around $200.



what speakers are in the sound bar (brand)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Grover View Post
A dealer listed one on ebay that they bought for a chrysler car that was the wrong model. They listed it in the wrong section of ebay, so no one bid on it. They had a starting bid of only $300 but since no one bid I emailed them on the last day and said I would give them $250 plus shipping for it right now. They said they were just trying to recover some of the cost from getting the wrong one and they had hoped to get more but they accepted my offer. With shipping it cost me $260. It was new in the box, but it was only the RER itself not the GPS antenna or sat radio stuff. I bought a GPS antenna from the dealer for $31. So it cost me $291 total for a new Mygig RER. Don't get mad. I know it is a retarded good deal.
SRTpusher is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2008, 10:11 AM   #22
Grover
Granite Guru
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member # 1455
Posts: 306
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRTpusher View Post
oh i was not mad at all! actually that was a SMOKIN deal!!! i got mine for $550 as a pull out. ($750 - $200 live.com rebate).

after selling my 6 disc, i will be in it for around $200.



what speakers are in the sound bar (brand)

You wont have much in it either. A friend of mine gave me a new 6 disk pull out that I have only used for 5 minutes to do some testing on rear video out plugs. I really like the 6D too, but that mygig is nice isnt it? I had an eclipse AVN5435 in my tj and I like this way better.

The soundbar speakers are crossfire audio 6.5s
Grover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2009, 01:15 PM   #23
1naylor
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member # 3842
Posts: 67
Feedback: 0 reviews
Adding mygig and satellite radio

So I just have the single disc player in my 09 Sahara. If I get a mygig pull and throw it in - will my sirius subscription still work? Is that a separate module that's plugged into the head unit now?

Thanks for the help.

Also - tubEXrube Did the sub hit harder after you relocated it?

Thanks.
1naylor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-14-2009, 09:46 PM   #24
Harley0706
Granite Guru
 
Harley0706's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member # 4021
Location: ʎʇıɔ sɐsuɐʞ
Posts: 130
Feedback: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1naylor View Post
So I just have the single disc player in my 09 Sahara. If I get a mygig pull and throw it in - will my sirius subscription still work? Is that a separate module that's plugged into the head unit now?

Thanks for the help.

Also - tubEXrube Did the sub hit harder after you relocated it?

Thanks.
You will have to switch your ID code to the new deck as the number is encoded in each unit. Should just be a phone call.......should.
__________________
-Josh

2009 Unlimited, Black
Purchased 3-31-2009

RC Crawler Specialist
Harley0706 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2009, 11:59 PM   #25
07unlimitedx
JKO Addict!
 
07unlimitedx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Member # 2682
Location: Calgary Alberta
Age: 44
Posts: 2,248
Feedback: 1 reviews
[QUOTE=Grover;28879]The soundbar speakers blow a donkey d**k so I put these in:

The speaker looks purple, but it isn't. Model is RS62. The dash is soon getting the component set by crossfire called X6. they require an adapter to mount them in that 3 prong chrysler opening. You can get them at the local audio hut, or best buy.



What kind of speakers did you put in the sound bar??
__________________
2010 Mountain Edition, ARB front/rear diff covers, ProComp rims, Nitto Terra Graplers, Truck Lite LED Headlights , S-Pod , K&N drop in filter, Poison Spyder Evap Skid, ARB front stubby bumper & ARB Rear bumper w/tire carrier, Chrysler hood lock, Rigid Industries 20" SR, Dually's & D2's, Tuffy Security Drawer, stereo cover and cubby cover, Viair 400C, RK 3.5" Flex, RCV front axels, ARB front & rear lockers, 4.56 G2 Gears, Warn M8000
07unlimitedx is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.