TSB: Cranck shaft sensor - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old 11-12-2007, 05:18 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to WTF_LOL
TSB: Cranck shaft sensor

Not sure if this had already been discussed but I thought I would share just in case.

I had a problem with my 2007 JK starting. At first, it seemed like sometimes I would turn the key and it would keep turning over and not start so I would reach down, turn the key off and try again and it would fire right up the second time. After a few times I just let it go and after about 2-3 seconds of turning pver it would start.

Took it to the stealership and they detirmened tha there was a TSB (08-023-07) and replaced the cam shaft sensor. So far no problems.

Also, I got mt G40 recall taken care of. Gotta love new models!
WTF_LOL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 11-12-2007, 05:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3
Feedback: 0 reviews
WTF

My JK just stared to do it as well. i will take her in to get it checked out.
jeepilot7738 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 11-12-2007, 11:39 PM
Broker by the Minute
 
MichaelW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cartoon City Nirvana
Posts: 3,827
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Any idea if the crank position sensor is just an automatic on the TSB or is all models? I'd almost bet it's for the auto's.
MichaelW is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 11-13-2007, 07:16 AM
Ipe
Rock God
 
Ipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The state where liberty died
Age: 48
Posts: 1,599
Feedback: 0 reviews

I'm glad that I found this thread. On the way home from trading in the H3 and getting the Rubi on Thursday I suffered a "disappointment". I drove the 70 miles from the dealer to home and stopped for some errands enroute. When I started the truck back up the ESP and the Check Engine lights came on and didn't go out.

I took it to the local dealer the next day and both lights went out when I drove into the service bay (naturally ). I gave the truck to them anyway, just to be safe. Well they want and looked at it. And then they keep looking... and looking... and looking... and I was none too pleased that my truck with only 102 miles on it was in the shop ALL DAY after having owned it for less than 24 hours.

Ultimately the issue turned out to be a bad crank shaft sensor and bad cam shaft sensor. I chalked it up to poop happens and decided to move on. Not too impressed, but moving on. This morning while having my breakfast I read this post and it made me feel MUCH better about what had happened. Its a known issue, they have a bulletin, and its taken care of.
Ipe is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 11-13-2007, 09:18 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to WTF_LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelW View Post
Any idea if the crank position sensor is just an automatic on the TSB or is all models? I'd almost bet it's for the auto's.
I have no idea but I woulod be willing to bet with you but I have found with this JK I am usually wrong, lol
WTF_LOL is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 11-14-2007, 10:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1
Feedback: 0 reviews

Wow, I can't believe this is still a Jeep problem. I had an 89 Cherokee and a 2000 Cherokee and both had the same problem with the crankshaft position sensor. Now I've got my 2007 Rubi, which is taking a little while to turn over before firing up, and I'll bet it's gonna end up being the same issue. So 20 years, and no progress there. hahaha
treblemaker is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 11-25-2007, 11:01 AM
TrailDuty.com
 
PhilD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,205
Feedback: 5 reviews

My JK failed to start today. Cranked over just fine, just wouldn't fire up at all. Wonder if it's the same thing? Either way, it was towed and will be at the dealership tomorrow.
PhilD is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 11-25-2007, 06:51 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to WTF_LOL

Dang, sorry to hear about that Phil.


Every time mine would start it is just sometimes it would take longer then it should. I think I remember the TSB saying something about people attempting to start it and it would turn over but not fire up so maybe it is the same just more sever??

Keep us posted with the results.
WTF_LOL is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 11-26-2007, 06:40 AM
TrailDuty.com
 
PhilD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,205
Feedback: 5 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by WTF_LOL View Post
I think I remember the TSB saying something about people attempting to start it and it would turn over but not fire up so maybe it is the same just more sever??
Yeah, from what I can gather other people just had a delay in starting or had to try it a couple of times, but mine was just not going to start. I'm hoping it's something simple, or at a minimum they find it, and not one of these ongoing situations that keeps happening. A few years ago, I had a H1 that left me stranded 12 times, it eventually turned out to be a rivet that had rubbed into the wiring harness and was shorting out every so often and blowing the TCM.
PhilD is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 11-26-2007, 08:01 AM
Alec W
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Hopefully itís something definitive Phil. I had a ford exploder than had all types of intermittent electrical problems. I hate getting stranded
post #11 of 18 Old 11-26-2007, 09:07 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to WTF_LOL

It is funny (well, not very funny) How people can handle broken shafts and all sorts of other major issues on a trail but a small short in the wiring stops 'em dead in thier tracks!


I hate wiring
WTF_LOL is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 11-26-2007, 11:04 AM
TrailDuty.com
 
PhilD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,205
Feedback: 5 reviews

One my expectations was that the fault would not happen when my vehicle got to the dealer. Sure enough it started fine, and as the computer showed no codes, that is as far as they will check it. I told them about the cam shaft sensor TSB and they weren't interested, so guess I'll take care of that myself. If I don't I suspect I'll be stuck again waiting for a wrecker...
PhilD is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 11-26-2007, 12:18 PM
Rock God
 
paragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Jackson, MS USA
Posts: 1,793
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilD View Post
One my expectations was that the fault would not happen when my vehicle got to the dealer. Sure enough it started fine, and as the computer showed no codes, that is as far as they will check it. I told them about the cam shaft sensor TSB and they weren't interested, so guess I'll take care of that myself. If I don't I suspect I'll be stuck again waiting for a wrecker...


figures

There has to be some idea of why it wouldn't throw a code, but also wouldn't try to hit. Maybe the lift kit caused it.
paragon is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 11-26-2007, 12:53 PM
TrailDuty.com
 
PhilD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,205
Feedback: 5 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by paragon View Post
figures
I thought it may happen, but was pretty sure it wouldn't start as i tried for 45 minutes.


Quote:
There has to be some idea of why it wouldn't throw a code, but also wouldn't try to hit.
The service writer said if it was the camshaft sensor that it wouldn't throw a code, but without them been able to replicate it, they couldn't do the TSB.


Quote:
Maybe the lift kit caused it.
I'm sure they have that excuse already pre-written in "Reasons for fault"
PhilD is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 11-26-2007, 01:13 PM
Rock God
 
paragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Jackson, MS USA
Posts: 1,793
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilD View Post
The service writer said if it was the camshaft sensor that it wouldn't throw a code, but without them been able to replicate it, they couldn't do the TSB.
Here is Dealer Service logic for you. There is a TSB.... a customer has to have their vehicle towed in due to something likely related to that TSB and instead of performing the fix related to it.... their position is to say it can't be replicated at this time and send you on your way only to likely leave you stranded once again.

There is something seriously wrong with the Chrysler dealer service network.
paragon is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 11-26-2007, 01:37 PM
TrailDuty.com
 
PhilD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,205
Feedback: 5 reviews

It's not very logical is it? Also it is likely to cost them more in the long run, having to pay to have it towed in a few more more times before they can replicate it and then do the TSB.
PhilD is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 11-26-2007, 02:09 PM
Rock God
 
paragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Jackson, MS USA
Posts: 1,793
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilD View Post
It's not very logical is it? Also it is likely to cost them more in the long run, having to pay to have it towed in a few more more times before they can replicate it and then do the TSB.
Cost much more. It costs more than the initial costs related to fixing it. Ratings associated with repairs due to dealer visits, customer satisfaction, employee time associated with spending extra time on one issue.

It would be slightly different if you drove it in and said I "hear" something. But having it towed in with a description of not cranking after being left stranded is a different story.
paragon is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 11-26-2007, 04:50 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,230
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to WTF_LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilD View Post
The service writer said if it was the camshaft sensor that it wouldn't throw a code, but without them been able to replicate it, they couldn't do the TSB.
I did not not have any code when I was having the issue with mine, that I could see anyways. I did not throw a CEL and my OBDII scanner did not read any other logs. Of course, the one I have for this vehicle is really basic.

I wish somebody out there would crack the Jeep ECU. Maybe somebody has on one of the Dodge forums and maybe it will translate over to the JK?? Anybody heard of anything???

I was driving an Evo before this and there is a group of people who cracked the computer and is doing most the work as an open source project. I understand Hex code, scripting and things like MUT tables to have fun with the Jeep ECU. I just don't know anything about dismanteling codes and locating ports. Imagine the fun we could have! Especially considering that everything on the Jeep is controlled by the ECU like Lockers, and the the brakes
WTF_LOL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome