No Power!!!! - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 04-24-2009, 08:26 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 37
Posts: 55
Feedback: 0 reviews
No Power!!!!

I Bought a new headunit.. got the adapter for it. no power to head unit.. i took the headunit back thinking it was defective but i still have no power to the new head unit.. Is there any additional wiring that needs to be done that i dont know about??? I double check all the connections they are good.. I even put the stock headunit back to make sure it still worked
CHI-TOWN-JK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-24-2009, 09:28 PM
Rock God
 
JKrazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yorba Linda, Ca
Posts: 1,328
Garage
Feedback: 13 reviews

You got the wrong harness... You have to get a canbus harness to use. I just found this out today... the hard way. Or, you can get power and accessory power from the cig lighters, and ground to the chassis. That's what I'm gonna do until my stupid 50.00 harness comes in.

'07 2 door Rubicon Steel Blue & Black 2 Tone
PROUD to be an
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JKrazed is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-26-2009, 07:12 AM
Fistfull of Boomstick
 
usmcdoc14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norfawk, va
Posts: 3,888
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKrazed View Post
You got the wrong harness... You have to get a canbus harness to use. I just found this out today... the hard way. Or, you can get power and accessory power from the cig lighters, and ground to the chassis. That's what I'm gonna do until my stupid 50.00 harness comes in.
yup. I have one here and is worthless. the only power from the factory plug is a constant hot and a ground.
Are you using the existing speakers or running a whole new system?

Doc-14 Tactical Products:
When it absolutely, positively needs to be made from random crap found in the back of my garage.

usmcdoc14 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-26-2009, 08:38 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 37
Posts: 55
Feedback: 0 reviews

I will eventually replace the stock speakers, but only running an amp and sub for now.. to power into the lighter do i actually have to splice into the lighter wires themselves and if so which one? and then go to ground

Also where can u get the can bus adapter?
CHI-TOWN-JK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome