Hardwire power for GPS? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 Old 03-20-2008, 08:56 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germantown, MD
Age: 44
Posts: 31
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to stevedolce Send a message via Skype™ to stevedolce
Hardwire power for GPS?

i've got a GPS that i want to hardwire power for..is there a way to take the 12V power supply and hard wire it? i ASSUME i can tap into a hot wire and solder it to the positive tip of the 12v supply(the part that would plug into the cig lighter) and the black to the ground? or am i missing something?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Steve
stevedolce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 03-20-2008, 09:02 PM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

It's easier to goto an autoparts store and pick up a spare cig lighter socket and splice the wires into your existing lighter, plug it into the GPS and tuck the whole shebang under the top piece of the center stack.
That way if you ever need to remove it for something, you can unplug it and take it out since you don't molest the plug for the GPS


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 03-21-2008, 09:27 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germantown, MD
Age: 44
Posts: 31
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to stevedolce Send a message via Skype™ to stevedolce

so i assume on the back of the cig lighter socket i buy, there will be a hot and a ground? i splice the hot into the red wire and tie the ground to the body of the jeep somewhere>


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Steve
stevedolce is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 03-21-2008, 09:35 PM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

yup, that's how I did it
used 3M sire tap connectors to tap into the wires coming off of the factory lighter


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 03-21-2008, 09:58 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germantown, MD
Age: 44
Posts: 31
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to stevedolce Send a message via Skype™ to stevedolce

is there an accessory fusebox i need to pull fuse from when i make cnnection? the only box i found with the main one under hood next to battery..


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Steve
stevedolce is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 03-21-2008, 10:15 PM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

I just tapped right into the factory wires
theyre still fused on the lighter fuse


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 03-23-2008, 08:25 AM
Broker by the Minute
 
MichaelW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cartoon City Nirvana
Posts: 3,827
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

I got the auxillary port for my Garmin. It had bare wire leads on one end then a plug to the Garmin on the other. I used one of my switches to power or not the garmin and the other data connections to plug to my scanner so it will switch towers and systems depneding on where I am according to the GPS.
MichaelW is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 03-23-2008, 09:15 PM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

I had to pull my GPS out to use it in the zoo tahoe today
just popped the dash top off and unplugged it
Attached Images
     


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 03-25-2008, 01:57 AM
Wheeler
 
2K1TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 42
Feedback: 0 reviews

Be careful!

I read on the other forum that a member did this and fried his GPS! That model only required like 4 or 5 volts and he wired it to the vehicle's 12v. I guess there's a convertor(or whatever it's called) built in to the factory plug???
2K1TJ is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 03-25-2008, 09:29 AM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

thats why I used the cig plug that came with the gps and just essentially made a hidden plug for it


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 06-08-2008, 07:14 PM
Granite Guru
 
Roklimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 445
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2K1TJ View Post
Be careful!

I read on the other forum that a member did this and fried his GPS! That model only required like 4 or 5 volts and he wired it to the vehicle's 12v. I guess there's a convertor(or whatever it's called) built in to the factory plug???
My Garmin Nuvi 760 adapter that plugs into the cig lighter has a circuit board and about 6 wires that go to the GPS. My solution was to buy a 12v receptacle and wire it into the back of the switched power receptacle in the dash (like Venom stated above). Then I routed it up above the drivers visor. This also retains the fuse built into the plug. Here's some pics...





2012 JKUR Bright White
EVO Enforcer 4" w King 2.0's
37" Toyo Open Country MT's
Roklimo is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 06-09-2008, 09:39 AM
Ipe
Rock God
 
Ipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The state where liberty died
Age: 49
Posts: 1,599
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thats a nice, clean installation you've done Roklimo. I've got a GPSMap60Cx so I'm not all that familiar with the Nuvi. Why do you have it plugged into your aux port? Audio for turn by turn? MP3's? Swedish midget tossing?
Ipe is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 06-09-2008, 09:41 AM
Ipe
Rock God
 
Ipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The state where liberty died
Age: 49
Posts: 1,599
Feedback: 0 reviews

OBTW - When I added a hard wire for my GPSMap60Cx I just added a cig lighter adapter inside the dash. It was the easiest way to do it.
Ipe is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 06-09-2008, 11:50 AM
Granite Guru
 
Roklimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 445
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ipe View Post
Thats a nice, clean installation you've done Roklimo. I've got a GPSMap60Cx so I'm not all that familiar with the Nuvi. Why do you have it plugged into your aux port? Audio for turn by turn? MP3's? Swedish midget tossing?
All of the above...except the midget tossing thing.

It does bluethooth with my phone, and has a media player. I have about a thousand MP3's jammed on a 4gb SDHC card that I listen to on it. I have also listened to audio books on it. The aux in works much better than any crappy FM transmitter...

2012 JKUR Bright White
EVO Enforcer 4" w King 2.0's
37" Toyo Open Country MT's
Roklimo is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 06-10-2008, 09:49 PM
Wheeler
 
1TallJKer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Murrieta, CA
Age: 47
Posts: 85
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 1TallJKer Send a message via Yahoo to 1TallJKer

Definately stick with the cig plug, unless you want to pull it apart and use the internals.

There is a small circuit board inside the lighter plug that steps down the voltage and keeps you from frying your GPS.

You can take apart the plug, pull out the circuit board and connect that to your power source, but I would advise against doing that unless you know what you are doing.

The same holds true for any item that uses a cigarette lighter plug.

O.B.A.M.A. - One Big A__ Mistake America


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
1TallJKer is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 06-11-2008, 06:20 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Dustoff '68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hampton Roads
Posts: 3,609
Feedback: 0 reviews

So when your GPS finally fries, what's the point...I see nothing wrong with the old fashioned way charge her up, hook her up, turn her on, when she starts dying (the battery), just re-charge her...why all the drama...???

Dedicating the next four years to throwing the bum(s) out!

The One Constant in an Ever Declining Civilization...Me!

Putting the SWAT Back in Conservative Values
Dustoff '68 is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 06-11-2008, 07:38 PM
Granite Guru
 
Roklimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 445
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustoff '68 View Post
So when your GPS finally fries, what's the point...I see nothing wrong with the old fashioned way charge her up, hook her up, turn her on, when she starts dying (the battery), just re-charge her...why all the drama...???
No drama. I use it every day, for hands free phone use, and listening to music. The navigation is secondary. Just don't want all those loose wires hanging everywhere. If the GPS "fries", then I will use the same receptacle I installed to plug in the next one.

Besides, if I wanted to do it "the old fashioned way" I wouldn't have bought a JK. I would be sporting a 65hp CJ2A with no top or passenger seat.

2012 JKUR Bright White
EVO Enforcer 4" w King 2.0's
37" Toyo Open Country MT's
Roklimo is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 06-12-2008, 04:14 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Dustoff '68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hampton Roads
Posts: 3,609
Feedback: 0 reviews

Bubble heads...always have a way with words...must be that nitrogen overload...

Dedicating the next four years to throwing the bum(s) out!

The One Constant in an Ever Declining Civilization...Me!

Putting the SWAT Back in Conservative Values
Dustoff '68 is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 06-12-2008, 06:28 AM
Ipe
Rock God
 
Ipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The state where liberty died
Age: 49
Posts: 1,599
Feedback: 0 reviews

I've been running my GPS powered off a hidden cig outlet for months and did the same in a previous vehicle as well. I considered cutting the plug off and getting fancy but decided that it wasn't worth it and the chances to screw up were too great.

This is my install:

Everything in place:



Hard mounted base plate with power and antenna cables



Cradle mounted in base with power and antenna cables
Ipe is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 06-12-2008, 08:35 AM
Alec W
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ipe View Post
OBTW - When I added a hard wire for my GPSMap60Cx I just added a cig lighter adapter inside the dash. It was the easiest way to do it.
I just cut the cig plug off and hard wired it with a 3 amp fuse. It's been fine for years (had it wired the same way in my last truck too).
post #21 of 23 Old 06-12-2008, 09:06 AM
Granite Guru
 
Rollbar13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Anaheim, Ca
Age: 38
Posts: 294
Feedback: 0 reviews

Maybe I haven't been looking hard enough but I can't seem to find a right angle aux cable for my MP3 player, I hate having this tall cord sticking out the top of my MP3 player and stereo...I'd like to get something that looks a little more asthetically pleasing...

anyone know where to get one about a foot long?

'07 Stone White X 2-Dr

"Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity"
Rollbar13 is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 06-12-2008, 02:37 PM
Openly Hostile
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Age: 38
Posts: 6,984
Feedback: 4 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollbar13 View Post
Maybe I haven't been looking hard enough but I can't seem to find a right angle aux cable for my MP3 player, I hate having this tall cord sticking out the top of my MP3 player and stereo...I'd like to get something that looks a little more asthetically pleasing...

anyone know where to get one about a foot long?
Try google, they have this really cool search feature...

Jason
SDMF is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 06-12-2008, 02:40 PM
Openly Hostile
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Age: 38
Posts: 6,984
Feedback: 4 reviews

I hid one on the back of the panel below the glove box. Just used a little duct tape to mount it.

Jason
SDMF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome