best cat back exhaust system [Archive] - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

: best cat back exhaust system

frank
04-15-2009, 01:52 PM
thinking of an exhaust upgrade.which system would anybody recommend.i really like the new volant dual tip muffler.does anyone have it installed.thanks.

spillidge
04-15-2009, 03:55 PM
I have the MBRP exhaust installed.
I noticed a little difference from around 1800 to 2500 RPM.
Sound is ok, but what do you expect from a 3.8!!!

JR
04-16-2009, 07:32 AM
I think the dual tips look a bit silly.

We've been moving the JBA stainless systems. Subtle sound difference and overall a nice part. The clamp on style doesn't seem to hold though, I always toss a couple tack welds on ours just to make sure it stays in place.

Not actual picture but here's the link
http://www.rjroffroad.com/jba-25-stainless-exhaust-system-for-07-08-jeep-wrangler-unli-offroad-c-440-p-1-pr-17025.html

lohchief
04-16-2009, 07:55 AM
I have a flowmaster 40 on in the stock location.It's smaller and fits up there real nice,decent sound (it is a V-6) installed for $125.00.You can spend alot more $ for little to no difference except maybe bragging rights,imho.These high dollar systems are a crock. :smokin:

lohchief
04-16-2009, 08:00 AM
Oh yeah,if your thinking about a CAI,don't waste your money.The only one that actually brings in colder air is the snorkel job.If your not going to be doing much,if any fording,a simple K&N dropin will work just fine. :beer::beer::beer:

frank
04-16-2009, 07:31 PM
thanks for your input guys.all the systems look nice but i think i am just going to do the muffler.

Mule'Con
04-16-2009, 08:48 PM
I did a search on YouTube.com, under "Jeep JK exhaust", and it comes up with a marvel of sounds from the various exhausts. Based on actual sound, for me:
Flowmaster 40, Magnaflow, MBRP