Rear adjust track bar or relocation bracket [Archive] - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

: Rear adjust track bar or relocation bracket

aldaman
12-03-2007, 07:18 PM
Hello, (sorry meant to post this in the modified section)

I am looking into purchasing a 4" lift kit. The Kit comes with an adjustable front track bar and for the rear a relocation bracket w/cam bolts. I was reading previous threads where other members say that it is best to go with an adjustable rear track bar rather than using the supplied cam bolts. My question is, if I purchase the adjustable rear track bar, do I install that with the relocation bracket or forego installing the relocation bracket and just install the rear track bar onto the stock rear bracket ...Please advise, thank you...

RedRockJK
12-03-2007, 08:20 PM
Toss the track bar bracket and use the adjustable track bar by itself. That's what I did on mine.

RotorHead
12-04-2007, 05:59 AM
I'm not an expert on this, but I think it depends on the design and quality of the relocation bracket. I was using an adjustable track bar without the relocation bracket on the rear and I didn't have any problems, but now I'm experimenting with using the Teraflex supplied relocation bracket and the stock track bar.

I just spent a little money on the front to level out the track bar and drag link to eliminate bump steer and stress on the components. It only makes since to me that I would want to try and level out the rear track bar also. The Teraflex track bar relocation bracket is a frame mount and so far I like it, but haven't wheeled it since installing.

Just be aware that the factory track bar mounts are soft and weak. You want to use a relocation bracket that reinforces these mounts and doesn't solely rely on the factory mounts to hold it.

PhilD
12-04-2007, 06:47 AM
What lift uses cam bolts on the track bar?