Painless Wiring [Archive] - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

: Painless Wiring


NorthGAX
02-22-2009, 01:24 PM
Everyone, I just purchased my Jeep and I am looking at how I can best add accessories. I wonder if anyone has had experience with Painless wiring products? I am looking at either:

http://www.painlessperformance.com/webcatalog/largeview.php?SearchField=70217

http://www.painlessperformance.com/webcatalog/largeview.php?SearchField=70207

I hope to have this block under the hood so I want something that is weather resistant.

Thanks,

John L
02-22-2009, 03:39 PM
Everyone, I just purchased my Jeep and I am looking at how I can best add accessories. I wonder if anyone has had experience with Painless wiring products? I am looking at either:

http://www.painlessperformance.com/webcatalog/largeview.php?SearchField=70217

http://www.painlessperformance.com/webcatalog/largeview.php?SearchField=70207

I hope to have this block under the hood so I want something that is weather resistant.

Thanks,


Welcome to the best JK forum on the net!!

I'm currently wiring an old CJ with a Painless block and harness, I think you'd be fine with either one. They make a great product.

NorthGAX
02-22-2009, 04:54 PM
Thanks for the quick response. I am think the seven circuit for growth since I already can think of three accessories (CB radio, Winch, additional lighting).

What does the more experienced people think?

John L
02-22-2009, 05:07 PM
Thanks for the quick response. I am think the seven circuit for growth since I already can think of three accessories (CB radio, Winch, additional lighting).

What does the more experienced people think?

Ummm....the winch goes straight to the battery.

venom
02-22-2009, 05:15 PM
Ummm....the winch goes straight to the battery.

Definitely!
a winch draws hundreds of amps of current, wire it straight to the battery!

jdrogers
02-23-2009, 12:08 PM
I have installed the version of this that has 4 switched and 3 always hot circuits. I mounted it inside behind the lower panel under the steering column.

http://www.jdrogers.com/newjeep/fuseblock.jpg

NorthGAX
02-23-2009, 12:16 PM
Was it fairly easy to install this component?

jdrogers
02-23-2009, 12:58 PM
Not very difficult. The wiring part is easy.

It took more time to bend up the little aluminium bracket I made to allow me to mount it behind that little panel.

finishlinewestfabricator
02-24-2009, 02:30 PM
just for the reason of pure convenience if you are not good with relays and wiring i would say to do the seven circuit harness

Jon Brock
03-06-2009, 09:55 AM
Used to work for the "Brains" behind painless. We did all or most of their development. Solid stuff and good components.

5
03-06-2009, 06:53 PM
I have installed the version of this that has 4 switched and 3 always hot circuits. I mounted it inside behind the lower panel under the steering column.

http://www.jdrogers.com/newjeep/fuseblock.jpg

I just bought the seven circuit one shown in the picture above. I do have a question though. I thought you were supposed to mount the fuse panel inside the engine bay for safety reasons and only run the relay wires into the cab of the jeep?

jdrogers
03-06-2009, 11:24 PM
I just bought the seven circuit one shown in the picture above. I do have a question though. I thought you were supposed to mount the fuse panel inside the engine bay for safety reasons and only run the relay wires into the cab of the jeep?

No, this model is the one without the water resistant cover. It needs to be mounted in a dry location. Lots of vehicles have a fuse block inside the vehicle.

Most of the circuits I plan on running are inside the Jeep so mounting it inside requires less wires through the firewall.

NorthGAX
03-07-2009, 09:33 AM
I ended up buying the weather resistant 7 circuit model (both constant and ignition). I will be installing it tonight along with my CB.

5
03-07-2009, 07:30 PM
I ended up buying the weather resistant 7 circuit model (both constant and ignition). I will be installing it tonight along with my CB.

Do you mind taking a picture if you find a place inside the engine bay suitable to mount it?

usmcdoc14
03-07-2009, 10:40 PM
I have always gone "cheap bastard" and just rip a fuze block from a Suzuki Samuria at the junk yard ($10-20) as they are retardedly simple blocks and can be wired in multiple ways (switched and unswitched) and use a couple of relays to set up the ones you want switched. install it all in one of the heavy duty "tupperware" boxes from walmart that latch shut.

whole setup would be half the price of the painless block