Best places to wheel east of the Mississippi? [Archive] - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

: Best places to wheel east of the Mississippi?

Gotlime?
10-05-2011, 02:29 PM
I've been wheeling for a few years around the SE US. I'd like to plan a longer trip with some friends for next spring.

Where would you suggest going that is within 8 hours of Charlotte, NC?

Links, pics, etc would be great!

Hypertech
10-05-2011, 02:33 PM
Hawk Pride ohv in Alabama

Greenfeet
10-05-2011, 02:38 PM
Gulches in Laurens SC.
Skip has an awesome park

Gotlime?
10-05-2011, 03:09 PM
Hawk Pride ohv in Alabama

Looks but, but a quick peek at their site indicates they are only open 2 weekends a month. I was planning on a 5 - 7 day trip.

Maybe it would be good for a Friday travel, Sat and Sun wheel and Monday travel home thing.

redneckjk
10-05-2011, 10:04 PM
Windrock/Coal Creek Oliver Springs, TN
72,000 acres and something for every rig mild to wild.

Bigjerm
10-06-2011, 05:45 AM
Harlan (Black Mountain), KY. Best I have seen since Tellico closed. Lots, lots, of rocks, plenty of trails for all styles of rigs. They just put up a zip line so I hope to make it back next year.

http://www.harlancountytrails.com/

redneckjk
10-07-2011, 08:38 AM
Harlan is one of the places I have not been. I hear good things about the place. Planning to go in the spring.

Hitchhiker
10-08-2011, 02:55 PM
I wouldn't bother driving to gulches, that's the worst park I've been to so far. The people who ran it are a bit jumpy and it's basically all setup for buggies or other traillered rigs. We did the entire place 3 or 4 times in a day and left a day early because there was nothing to justify spending a second day there.

Would be fun if you trailer your rig and you haven't found something that will break it though.

Been a year or two since I've gone but no one in my group wants to go again even though it's one of the closest parks to where we live.