X or Rubicon ? [Archive] - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

: X or Rubicon ?

JeepMammouth
10-26-2007, 04:08 PM
Ok so i'm a total newbie. Never been off roading, seen plenty of video, talked to plenty of friends and i've been following many newsgroup for the last 6 months to see what's it's all about. It looks like a lot of fun and i've decided to get myself a JK. I'm ready to order a 2008. Great. Now what do I get?

I'm going for a 4 door for various reason. I've been wondering if I should get a Rubicon and build from that or buy and X and start from there.

What say you expert out there ?

I can do basic mecanics, my kid is taking a mecanics certification course now so we're not totaly useless and can do base mecanics. We don't mind getting some elbow grease and in fact, kinda enjoy-it. Just wondering what's the best way to go about it.

Any advice?

toadontheroad
10-26-2007, 04:34 PM
My recommendation for you is to get an X with 6speed and a Dana44 locker in the rear.
I say this because:

1. Saves alot of money
2. D44 gives you some off-roading power so you can get a feel for it
3. Since you're not adverse to wrenching, as you drive, you learn - you'll hear more guys over time talk about things you don't fully understand right now but later you will. Then you'll start to know what you want out of the vehicle and you can shop around, again learning about different products in the process.
4. After learning a bunch and deciding what you do and don't like, and what you want to do with your jeep (rock crawl, mud, trail only, etc) you can now start to use some of that cash you saved during the initial purchase on MODS!! (see, I can learn from my wifes shopping trips - "see how much money I saved at this sale?")