Any Nor Cal pees have your Amateur Radio License? [Archive] - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

: Any Nor Cal pees have your Amateur Radio License?

Sludge Puppy
01-03-2011, 08:59 PM
Anyone up here run Tech or General License? Anyone actually use it when wheeling up here?

Forgot to say, I will be testing Jan 22 if anyone wants to go get their license. Is $30 and lasts from 8-5

Eugene
01-03-2011, 09:00 PM
KF6UIO. I am a Tech with plans to upgrade to General when my son goes for Tech. I have used it a few times but only a few people I run with have a ticket. I need to get a dash mount this spring because the handy is tough to operate and drive. But I do love it more than a CB.

Sludge Puppy
01-03-2011, 09:04 PM
You keep a radio in the jeep? I keep thinking about putting a system in mine but have not seen any one else running up here! Used to be great to be in LA and yap with the boys at the hammers

Eugene
01-03-2011, 09:11 PM
Won't necessarily keep it in the Jeep, but have a removable mobile installed. You get more power, and you can yak with people all over the place. Went to do the Mojave Rd last year with a buddy who has an ICOM moble, and he was talking with people all over CA and NV. Said it made the long drive interesting.

Sludge Puppy
01-03-2011, 09:17 PM
I was thinking with cuts crew how some of them couldnt find the others with the CB if they ran on 10 band they would have been able to actually talk to them. Plus like you mentioned there is always someone on the air wanting to yap :)

cruzcode
01-03-2011, 10:12 PM
I need to learn more about these Bacon Radios. I do not like not knowing about shit.

Someone spill it.

RC

Eugene
01-03-2011, 10:24 PM
Go here http://www.arrl.org/ . This should help some.

HOGGSTATUS
01-03-2011, 11:52 PM