Dual/Multiple battery systems [Archive] - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

: Dual/Multiple battery systems

MichaelW
09-11-2007, 12:22 PM
Ok I'm just starting to learn about dual/multiple battery systems.

I'd like to run one or two yellow top spiral cell type batteries inside the cab. I'm thinking two so I can have them for my welder. I'm also going to be adding a little trailer soon into the mix which may also have batteries that will need charging.

thought: Could the batteries be wired in series for a Ready Welder and still run off the isolator and charge the batteries?

So is it as simple as running an isolator unit to separate the batteries for charging? What if I want to run more than just one extra battery? Surely this is easy as it is done in RV's all the time.

Does anyone have any recommendations on systems or sources?

Thanks!

gcg
09-11-2007, 03:36 PM
I'm running a dual battery system in my XJ. I use two Optima yellow tops and have a diode isolater system. With it, the alternator charges both batteries in parallel but they cannot discharge through eachother. So, one can be run completely dead and the other will still be fully charged. The batteries operate separately, not in parallel.

It all sounds great but I've found that the yellow tops don't last very long in this situation. I replace one each year at about $200 each. Way expensive! I don't know for sure but I suspect this is because the charge sensing lead is attached to the junction of the two diodes, which is a diode drop away from the battery voltage. So, it is going to regulate that voltage during charging and the battery voltage will be lower (by a diode drop). The net of all that is that the batteries are being charged for most of their cycle at a voltage somewhat less than the "preferred voltage" and may end up suffering a bit as a result. As I mentioned, I'm not completely certain on this but it seems to make sense to me.